电池模块

理解、设计和优化电池系统

根据不同的仿真目的,电池建模需要不同程度的细节。“电池模块”是 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件的一个附加产品,从电池多孔电极的详细结构到包括热管理系统在内的电池组,其中涵盖各种尺度的广泛描述。

这些描述涉及带电和电中性物质的传递、电荷平衡、化学和电化学反应、焦耳热和电化学反应引起的热效应、传热、流体流动等各种物理现象,以及对于理解电池系统非常重要的其他物理现象。

联系 COMSOL
由 200 个电池组成的电池组模型,通过 Heat Camera 颜色表进行可视化。

锂离子电池

“电池模块”的特点是提供最先进的锂离子电池模型,其中包含具有不同老化机制的高保真模型(例如 Newman 模型),并支持一维、二维和全三维建模。除了对电化学反应本身建模以外,您还可以将它们与传热相结合,用于分析由嵌锂膨胀和收缩引起的结构应力和应变。不仅如此,还提供建立异构模型的功能,这些模型可以描述孔隙电解质和电极颗粒的实际形状,对电池微观结构的研究有助于更深入地了解电池的性能。

铅酸电池

本软件包含电解质的离子势和组成,以及固体电极中的电位和孔隙率的因变量,可用于铅酸电池仿真。模型中考虑了固体的溶解和沉积,其中的内置特征还支持您研究各种设计参数如何影响电池的性能,例如电极和隔膜的厚度和几何形状、集流体和馈线的几何形状,等等。

普通电池

“电池模块”的核心是具有正极、负极和隔膜的详细单电池模型。您可以使用对多孔电极的一般描述来定义电极中任意数量的竞争反应,并将其与任意组分的电解质进行耦合。本模块允许您使用浓溶液、稀溶液(Nernst-Planck 方程)理论,并将支持电解质与多孔电极理论相结合,从而描述任何成分的孔隙电解质和隔膜中的电解质。

电池模块支持的建模对象

使用 COMSOL® 软件对电池执行各种电化学分析。

一个三维模型,显示了深蓝色到白色渐变的流线,它们穿过紫色斑点状的结构。

异构和同构模型

对具有代表性的单电池的多孔电极和孔隙电解质的详细结构进行建模。

显示 1C 时 SEI 层电位降的一维绘图,y 轴为 SEI 层的电位降,x 轴为循环次数。

固体电解质界面的生长(SEI)

对锂离子电池石墨负极的老化进行建模。

扩散诱导应力的一维绘图,y 轴为应力(Pa),x 轴为归一化颗粒尺寸。

扩散诱导应力

计算膨胀和收缩引起的插层应力和应变。1

模型的放大视图,其中圆柱体显示为黄色,周围用 HeatCamera 渐变色填充。

短路

研究电池的内部短路情况。

由 12 个圆柱形电池组成的电池组模型,其中以彩虹色显示温度。

伪维

对电极颗粒中的嵌锂进行建模。

一维电容图,y 轴为浓度,x 轴为长度(nm)。

双电层电容

对电化学电容器和纳米电极进行建模。

以铜色和黑色显示的圆柱形电池模型,其中用 HeatCamera 颜色表显示的流线来表示电池下方的流场。

镍氢电池和镍镉电池

模拟含碱性二元(1:1)电解质的电池。

以彩虹色显示的铅流。

液流电池

模拟铅酸电池和钒液流电池在充放电负载循环中的情况。

充放电循环电位的一维绘图,y 轴为电池电位,x 轴为时间(单位:秒)。

金属沉积

指定电极主体容量,以避免在高速充电过程中锂金属的沉积。

一维绘图,y 轴为孔隙率,x 轴为正极无量纲厚度。

电解质降解

模拟受多孔介质物质传递影响的化学反应。

一维绘图,其中用蓝色显示模拟的阻抗 NCA 与参考值的关系,并用绿色显示实验阻抗 NCA 与参考值的关系,在达到 0.0016 之前,这两条线高度吻合。

阻抗谱

使用基于物理场的高保真模型研究电池的谐波响应。

一维绘图,y 轴为电池电位(单位:伏特),x 轴为时间(单位:秒),并用蓝线表示建模的电池电压,用绿线表示实验电池电压;这两条线高度吻合。

带参数估计的集总模型

根据一小组集总参数来定义简化的电池模型,将高保真模型的结果与实验结果进行拟合。2

  1. 需要“结构力学模块”
  2. 需要“优化模块”

电池模块的特征和功能

“电池模块”提供一套专用工具来模拟电池在不同工作条件下的性能。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“电压损失”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,以及电池组模型,其中用 HeatCamera 颜色表将温度可视化。

简化电池建模

为了更快地对三维电池组进行热分析,您可以对电池组中的每个电池使用经过验证的集总(简化)模型。集总模型一旦经过验证,便可以在特定的工作范围内提供极高的精度。“电池模块”包含基于物理场的集总模型,可以求解多个空间维度的电化学方程。

单颗粒电池 接口分别使用一个单独的单颗粒模型来表征电池的正负极,从而对电池中的电荷分布进行建模。集总电池 接口利用一小组集总参数来增加电池中所有电压损失的总和,这些电压损失源于欧姆电阻和(可选的)电荷转移和扩散过程。此外,您还可以使用电池等效电路 接口根据任意数量的电路元件来定义电池模型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“多孔电极反应”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,以及模型的电解质浓度一维绘图。

具有任意数量电化学反应的多孔电极

电池系统和化学物质经常在电极上产生不必要的副反应,您可以研究它们对充放电循环以及自放电的影响。模块中提供了一个预定义反应数据库,您也可以在电极上添加任意副反应。

您可以模拟的典型副反应包括析氢、析氧、固体电解质界面的生长、金属电镀、金属腐蚀和石墨氧化。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“频域扰动”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,以及模型的阻抗一维绘图。

全瞬态和阻抗谱研究

电池系统通常是封闭系统,要研究其工作过程非常困难。我们可以使用电位阶跃、电流中断和阻抗谱等瞬态方法来表征工作中的电池。

通过执行瞬态研究,您可以在不同的时间尺度和频率下运行参数估计,从而分离欧姆、动力学、传输以及其他可能导致电池老化的损耗。利用瞬态技术、建模和参数估计,您可以对电池系统的健康状况做出非常准确的估计。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“锂离子电池”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,“图形”窗口中显示蓝色圆形模型,其中以红色、橙色、黄色和青色显示峰值。

高保真电池建模

锂离子电池 接口用于计算锂离子电池的电位和电流分布,支持使用多种插层电极材料,还包含 SEI 层引起的电压损失。

二元电解质电池 接口用于计算普通电池的电位和电流分布,支持使用多种插层电极材料,此外,还可以包含由于在多孔电极上形成膜而引起的电压损失。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“颗粒插层”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,以及模型的 NCA 和 LMO 的不同混合分数的电压曲线一维绘图。

双峰孔隙结构中的插层物质和传递

多孔电池电极中的颗粒既可以是固体(锂离子电极),也可以是多孔(铅酸,镍镉)结构。在固体颗粒情况下,电极中的填充颗粒之间存在孔隙。然而,对于氢和锂这样的小原子,固体颗粒中可能会发生传递和反应。这些插层物质通过沿固体颗粒半径定义的单独扩散-反应方程进行建模,其通量在颗粒表面与在颗粒之间的孔隙电解质中传递的物质相耦合。插层物质和反应是为锂离子电池预定义的,您也可以使用相同的功能来模拟镍氢等电池中的氢插层。

对于多孔颗粒的情况,可以得到双峰孔隙结构:填充颗粒之间的大孔结构和颗粒内部的微孔结构。多孔颗粒的反应-扩散方程的定义方式与固体颗粒中物质的插入方式类似。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,显示了“模型开发器”,其中突出显示“锂离子电池”节点,并显示其对应的“设置”窗口,以及电池组模型,其中用 HeatCamera 颜色表将温度可视化。

内置热力学和材料属性

模块附带的电池材料数据库包含许多通用电极和电解质材料,有助于大幅减少新建电池模型所需的工作量。

在电池系统建模过程中,一个比较耗时且容易出错的步骤是收集输入数据并合理地使用这些数据。例如,在同一参考系中定义正极和负极非常重要。在将平衡电极(半电池)电位纳入同一电池系统模型之前,必须针对相同的参比电极、电解质和温度进行测量或校准。

COMSOL 是否能用于解决我的问题?
欢迎联系我们,我们的专业工程师可以协助您评估技术可行性,并根据实际使用场景推荐相应的许可形式。

单击“联系 COMSOL”按钮,填写并提交相关信息,我们的工作人员将会尽快与您联系。

下一步:评估与试用 COMSOL® 软件

产品库

Battery Design Module

Understand, Design, and Optimize Battery Systems

Modeling batteries requires different levels of detail depending on the purpose of the simulations. The Battery Design Module is an add-on to the COMSOL Multiphysics® software that encompasses descriptions over a large range of scales, from the detailed structures in the battery's porous electrode to the battery pack scale including thermal management systems.

The descriptions involve physics phenomena such as transport of charged and neutral species, charge balances, chemical and electrochemical reactions, Joule heating and thermal effects due to electrochemical reactions, heat transfer, fluid flow, and other physical phenomena that are important for the understanding of a battery system.

Contact COMSOL
A battery pack model consisting of 200 batteries, visualized in the Heat Camera color table.

Lithium-Ion Batteries

The Battery Design Module features state-of-the-art models for lithium-ion batteries. You will find different mechanisms for aging and high-fidelity models, such as the Newman model, available in 1D, 2D, and full 3D. In addition to modeling electrochemical reactions on their own, you can combine them with heat transfer and account for the structural stresses and strains caused by the expansion and contraction from lithium intercalation. The module also provides functionality for setting up heterogenous models, which describe the actual shapes of the pore electrolyte and electrode particles. Studying the microstructure of a battery helps to provide a deeper understanding of the battery performance.

Lead–Acid Batteries

For the simulation of lead–acid batteries, the software includes the dependent variables for ionic potential and composition of an electrolyte and the electric potential and porosity in the solid electrodes. The model accounts for the dissolution and deposition of solids. The built-in features allow you to also study how various design parameters affect the performance of the battery, such as thickness and geometry of the electrodes and separators, the geometry of the current collectors and feeders, and more.

Generic Batteries

The workhorse of the Battery Design Module is the detailed model of the battery unit cells with positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator. With the generic description of porous electrodes, you can define any number of competing reactions in an electrode and also couple this to an electrolyte of an arbitrary composition. The module allows you to describe the pore electrolyte and the electrolyte in the separator, for any composition, with the theory for concentrated, dilute (Nernst–Planck equations), and supporting electrolytes in combination with porous electrode theory.

What You Can Model with the Battery Design Module

Perform various electrochemical analyses for batteries with the COMSOL® software.

A 3D model showing streamlines in a dark-blue-to-white color gradient that move through purple blob-like formations.

Heterogeneous and Homogenous Models

Model the detailed structure of the porous electrodes and the pore electrolyte for a representative unit cell of a battery.

A 1D plot showing the SEI layer potential drop at 1C with the potential drop over SEI layer on the y-axis and cycle number on the x-axis.

Growth of Solid Electrolyte Interface (SEI)

Model aging in a negative graphite electrode of a lithium-ion battery.

A 1D plot of diffusion-induced stress with Pa on the y-axis and normalized particle dimension on the x-axis.

Diffusion-Induced Stress

Compute intercalation stresses and strains caused by expansion and contraction.1

A zoomed-in view of a model with a cylinder shown in yellow surrounded by a Heat Camera color gradient.

Short-Circuiting

Investigate an internal short circuit of a battery.

A battery pack model of 12 cylindrical batteries with temperature shown in rainbow.

Pseudo-Dimension

Model the intercalation of lithium in the electrode particles.

A 1D capacitance plot with the concentration on the y-axis and nm on the x-axis.

Double-Layer Capacitance

Model electrochemical capacitors and nanoelectrodes.

A cylindrical battery model in copper and black with flow beneath the battery shown as streamlines in the Heat Camera color table.

NiMH and NiCd Batteries

Model batteries with alkaline binary (1:1) electrolytes.

Lead flow visualized in rainbow.

Flow Batteries

Simulate lead-acid and vanadium flow batteries during an applied charge–discharge load cycle.

A 1D plot showing relative capacity loss.

Metal Plating

Specify electrode host capacities to avoid lithium metal plating during high-rate charging.

A 1D plot with porosity on the y-axis and dimensionless thickness of positive electrode on the x-axis.

Porosity Effects

Model chemical reactions influenced by species transport in porous media.

A 1D plot showing simulated impedance NCA vs. reference in blue and experimental impedance NCA vs. reference in green, where the two lines are closely matched until 0.0016.

Impedance Spectroscopy

Study the harmonic response of a battery using physics-based high-fidelity models.

A 1D plot with cell potential in volt on the y-axis and time in seconds on the x-axis, and lines for the modeled cell voltage in blue and experimental cell voltage in green; the two lines are a close match.

Lumped Models with Parameter Estimation

Define a simplified battery model based on a small set of lumped parameters that fit results from high-fidelity models to experimental results.2

  1. Requires the Structural Mechanics Module
  2. Requires the Optimization Module

Features and Functionality in the Battery Design Module

The Battery Design Module offers a set of specialized tools to simulate the performance of batteries under different operating conditions.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Voltage Losses node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a battery pack model visualizing temperature in the Heat Camera color table.

Simplified Battery Modeling

For faster thermal analysis of 3D battery packs, validated lumped (simplified) models can be used for each battery in a pack. Once validated, the lumped models may give excellent accuracy within a particular range of operation. The Battery Design Module contains lumped models that are physics-based and solve the electrochemical equations in multiple space dimensions.

The Single Particle Battery interface models the charge distribution in a battery using one separate single-particle model each for the positive and negative electrodes of the battery. The Lumped Battery interface makes use of a small set of lumped parameters for adding contributions for the sum of all voltage losses in the battery, stemming from ohmic resistances and, optionally, charge transfer and diffusion processes. Additionally, you can define a battery model based on an arbitrary number of electrical circuit elements with the Battery Equivalent Circuit interface.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Porous Electrode Reaction node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a 1D plot of the electrolyte concentration for the model.

Porous Electrodes with an Arbitrary Number of Electrochemical Reactions

Battery systems and chemistries are often burdened by unwanted side-reactions at the electrodes, and you can investigate their impact on charge and discharge cycles, as well as for self-discharge.

Typical by-reactions that you are able to model include hydrogen evolution, oxygen evolution, the growth of a solid electrolyte interface, metal plating, metal corrosion, and graphite oxidation.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Frequency Domain Perturbation node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a 1D plot of the impedance for the model.

Fully Transient and Impedance Spectroscopy Studies

Battery systems are often closed systems that are difficult to study during operation. Transient methods such as potential step, current interrupt, and impedance spectroscopy can be used to characterize a battery during operation.

By performing transient studies, you can run parameter estimation at different time scales and frequencies to separate ohmic, kinetics, transport, and other losses that may be responsible for battery aging. Using transient techniques, modeling, and parameter estimation, you can make very accurate estimations of the state of health of a battery system.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Lithium-Ion Battery node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and the Graphics window containing a circular blue model with a peak in red, orange, yellow, and teal.

High-Fidelity Battery Modeling

The Lithium-Ion Battery interface is used to compute the potential and current distributions in a lithium-ion battery. Multiple intercalating electrode materials can be used, and voltage losses due to SEI layers are also included.

The Battery with Binary Electrolyte interface is used to compute the potential and current distributions in a generic battery. Multiple intercalating electrode materials can be used, and voltage losses due to film formation on the porous electrodes can also be included.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Particle Intercalation node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a 1D plot of the voltage profiles for different mix fractions of NCA and LMO for the model.

Intercalating Species and Transport in Pore Structures

The particles in porous battery electrodes can either be solid (Li-ion electrode) or porous (lead–acid, NiCd). In the case of solid particles, the porosity in the electrode is found between the packed particles. However, transport and reactions may occur in the solid particles for small atoms such as hydrogen and lithium atoms. These intercalating species are modeled with a separate diffusion-reaction equation defined along the radius of the solid particles. The flux of the intercalating species is coupled at the surface of the particles with the species that are transported in the pore electrolyte between the particles. The intercalation species and reactions are predefined for Li-ion batteries, but you can use the same functionality to model intercalation of hydrogen in, for example, NiMH batteries.

In the case of porous particles, a bimodal pore structure is obtained: a macroporous structure between the packed particles and a microporous structure inside the particles. The reaction–diffusion equations in the porous particles are defined in a similar fashion as for the intercalation of species in solid particles.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder with the Lithium-Ion Battery node highlighted, the corresponding Settings window, and a battery pack model with the temperature visualized in the Heat Camera color table.

Built-In Thermodynamics and Material Properties

The battery material database included in the module contains entries for a number of common electrodes and electrolytes, substantially reducing the amount of work needed for creating new battery models.

One of the more time-consuming and error-prone steps in the modeling of battery systems is to gather input data and to use it consistently. For example, it is important that the positive and negative electrodes are defined in the same reference systems. The equilibrium electrode (half-cell) potentials have to be measured or calibrated to the same reference electrodes, electrolytes, and temperatures before they are incorporated in the same battery system model.

Every business and every simulation need is different.

In order to fully evaluate whether or not the COMSOL Multiphysics® software will meet your requirements, you need to contact us. By talking to one of our sales representatives, you will get personalized recommendations and fully documented examples to help you get the most out of your evaluation and guide you to choose the best license option to suit your needs.

Just click on the "Contact COMSOL" button, fill in your contact details and any specific comments or questions, and submit. You will receive a response from a sales representative within one business day.

Next Step

Request a Software Demonstration

Product Suite