网格更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本对网格划分和网格准备方面进行了多项更新,包括表面网格编辑工具、对 PLY 和 3MF 文件的支持,以及生成弯曲单元的新方法。请阅读以下内容,了解所有网格更新。

对导入的表面网格直接进行网格划分

现在,您可以基于导入的表面网格直接生成四面体网格,也就是说,无需像 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件之前版本那样在单独的组件中创建中间几何结构。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中在“图形”窗口中显示斯坦福兔子的导入的表面网格。 对导入的表面网格直接进行网格划分 对导入的表面网格直接进行网格划分。

基于过滤器数据集创建网格

网格零件的导入 操作现在包含一个新选项,可基于过滤器 数据集定义的网格数据创建网格。此选项对于定义拓扑优化研究的输出几何结构特别有用。您可以在导出和导入拓扑优化的钢钩支架 - 拓扑优化模型中看到这一新选项。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示“模型开发器”、“源”设为“过滤器数据集”的“导入”设置窗口和“图形”窗口中的钩网格。 从“过滤器”数据集导入的网格 基于定义拓扑优化结果的 过滤器数据集创建的网格。原始组件的选择将转移到网格零件。

编辑和修复网格的新操作

新版本为导入的表面网格提供新的编辑工具,支持您创建新的面来填充孔。此外,还提供一些用于创建网格顶点、边、面和域的新操作,支持您在较低级别手动编辑网格。

使用新工具导入表面网格前的图片,其中显示网格中的孔 带有以蓝色显示轮廓的孔的网格 以蓝色突出显示的表面网格中的孔。
使用新工具导入表面网格后的图片,其中显示用体积网格填充的孔。 包含填充孔的网格 生成的水密表面网格。

导入和导出 3MF 和 PLY 文件

除 STL 格式以外,现在还支持以 3MF 和 PLY 格式(用于 3D 打印和增材制造)导入和导出三维网格数据。您现在还可以使用分段文件 格式导入和导出数据,这是一种用于定义插值函数的 COMSOL 格式。

“模型开发器”窗口和网格导入特征的设置,其中显示 3MF 和 PLY 文件类型可供导入。 网格导入设置 支持的三维网格数据导入格式。

稳定生成弯曲单元

新版本引入了一种生成弯曲单元的新方法,可通过弯曲内部域单元来避免生成质量差的单元。如果取消选中此复选框,我们将通过为相应的单元使用线性几何形状来避免反转的弯曲单元。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示“模型开发器”、“组件”设置窗口和两个网格图像,一个不包含弯曲的内部单元,另一个则包含弯曲的内部单元。 COMSOL Multiphysics 中弯曲的内部单元 组件特征 设置窗口中的 通过弯曲内部域单元来避免反转单元复选框生成的边界层网格,其内部单元是弯曲的,从而避免沿弯曲边界产生形状不佳的弯曲单元。

Mesh Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes several updates to meshing and mesh preparation, including surface mesh editing tools, support for PLY and 3MF files, and a new method for generating curved elements. View all of the mesh updates below.

Direct Meshing of Imported Surface Meshes

You can now generate a tetrahedral mesh directly from an imported surface mesh, that is, without creating an intermediate geometry in a separate component, as was necessary in previous versions of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing an imported surface mesh of the Stanford rabbit in the Graphics window. Direct meshing of an imported surface mesh Direct meshing of an imported surface mesh.

Create Meshes from Filter Datasets

The Import operation for mesh parts has a new option for creating a mesh based on mesh data defined by a Filter dataset. This option is particularly useful for defining the output geometry of a topology optimization study. You can see this new option in the Exporting and Importing a Topology Optimized Hook and Bracket — Topology Optimization models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder, the Import settings window with the Source set to Filter dataset, and a hook mesh in the Graphics window. Imported mesh from Filter dataset Mesh created from a Filter dataset that defines the result of a topology optimization. The selections from the original component are transferred to the mesh part.

New Operations for Editing and Repairing Meshes

There are new editing tools available for imported surface meshes that allow you to create new faces to fill holes. Additionally, there are new operations for creating mesh vertices, edges, faces, and domains enabling manual editing of meshes at a lower level.

The before picture when using the new tools for importing surface meshes, showing the holes in the mesh A mesh with holes outlined in blue Holes in a surface mesh highlighted in blue.
The after picture when using the new tools for importing surface meshes, showing the holes filled in with a volume mesh. A mesh with holes filled in The resulting, watertight surface mesh.

Import and Export of 3MF and PLY Files

In addition to the STL format, the 3MF and PLY formats, which are used for 3D printing and additive manufacturing, are now supported for import and export of mesh data in 3D. It is now also possible to import and export mesh data using the Sectionwise file format, which is a COMSOL format for defining interpolation functions.

The Model Builder window and settings for the mesh import feature showing that the 3MF and PLY file types are available for import. Mesh import settings Supported formats for import of mesh data in 3D.

Robust Generation of Curved Elements

There is a new method for generating curved elements that avoids bad-quality elements by curving interior domain elements as well. If you deselect this check box, inverted curved elements will instead be avoided by using linear geometry shapes for the corresponding elements.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder, the Component settings window, and two images of a mesh, one without, and one with, curved interior elements. Curved interior elements in COMSOL Multiphysics The Avoid inverted elements by curving interior domain elements check box in the Settings window for the Component feature leads to a boundary layer mesh where the interior elements are curved to avoid badly shaped curved elements along the curved boundary.