射线光学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“射线光学模块”的用户引入了多尺度建模功能,其中的新特征可以将“RF 模块”或“波动光学模块”的频域电磁学与射线光学相耦合,新增了可以简化后处理操作的专用点列图 绘图,并改进了光栅 边界条件,现在包含专用的交叉光栅 特征。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“射线光学模块”的新增功能及其他更新。

多尺度电磁建模

新版本增加了两个射线释放功能,支持用户将“射线光学模块”与“RF 模块”或“波动光学模块”耦合,在“模型开发器”工作流程中无缝地集成起来,进行多尺度电磁建模。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中“基于电场释放”特征的“设置”窗口。 “基于电场释放”特征设置 “模型开发器”中射线追踪和全波建模的组合设置。

在本例中,多尺度是指同时在与波长相当的小尺度,以及比波长大得多的尺度上进行光学建模。其中,在波长尺度上使用有限元法 (FEM),对光的长距离传播使用射线追踪方法建模。

您可以使用新的基于电场释放 特征从表面发射光线,其初始强度和偏振取自相邻区域的电场。这使您可以使用电磁波,频域 接口或电磁波,波束包络 接口先模拟电磁波在与波长相当的距离上的传播,然后通过射线追踪将模型扩展为模拟更长的距离。同样,您也可以使用新的基于远场辐射方向图释放 特征,根据先前研究中定义的远场函数从点或点栅格向外发射光线。在释放光线时,可以通过指定欧拉角来转换辐射方向图,以便从许多不同的天线方向释放,而不必重新计算辐射方向图。

高斯光束模型(显示为灰度切面图),释放的射线显示为箭头和偏振椭圆。 高斯光束和释放的射线 本例使用 电磁波,波束包络接口对少量波长的高斯波束进行建模(灰度切面图)。然后,从建模域的边界释放射线,并沿射线绘制偏振椭圆。
偶极天线模型,其中射线在各个方向上向外释放。 具有释放射线的偶极天线 在频域建模的偶极天线,中心显示其远场辐射方向图。然后,在各个方向释放射线,并从该辐射方向图获取强度和偏振。
四种偶极天线模型,其中射线以不同的欧拉角组合进行释放。 射线以不同的欧拉角进行释放的偶极天线 偶极天线及其远场辐射方向图,其中射线以默认的欧拉角进行释放(左上角)。其余为射线从其他三个点以不同的欧拉角组合释放的情况。

以下模型使用了这一新功能:

“点列图”绘图

借助专用的点列图 绘图,您可以更轻松地绘制射线与表面的交点,从而显著加快射线光学模型的后处理速度。表面既可以是几何图形中的物理边界,也可以是通过三维交点 数据集创建的虚拟边界。

点列图 绘图包含的专用工具可用于定制和组织绘图,例如:

  • 过滤掉射线,使其不显示在绘图中
  • 根据波长或视场角对射线进行分类,使它们看起来像不同的点组成的阵列
  • 自动定位最小均方根 (RMS) 点尺寸的平面并在其中创建数据集
  • 显示文本注释,例如点尺寸、波长和位置
以彩虹色显示的双高斯透镜系统的点列图。 点列图:标称像平面 “双高斯透镜”系统标称像平面上的点列图。来自“案例库”中的“双高斯透镜”教学案例。
“双高斯透镜”系统的最佳聚焦点列图。 点列图:“最佳聚焦”平面 “双高斯透镜”系统“最佳聚焦”平面上的点列图。软件自动计算出相交平面的位置,使 RMS 点尺寸最小化。
由九个点列图组成的拼贴图,其中的点按波长排序。 白瞳阶梯光栅光谱仪的点列图 来自“案例库”中“白瞳阶梯光栅光谱仪”模型的点列图阵列。点按波长排序。

以下模型使用了这一新功能:

光学像差图的功能改进

光学像差 图现在包含新的设置,可供您更轻松地计算用于描述单色像差的泽尼克多项式系数。新增的内置滤波器选项可基于波长、反射次数或释放特征来移除射线。此外,还有一个新命令可以自动定义以 RMS 焦点为中心的参考半球。您可以在双高斯透镜牛顿望远镜结构分析模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

所有泽尼克多项式之和的光学像差图。 光学像差图:所有泽尼克多项式 双高斯透镜系统的 RMS 焦点中所有泽尼克多项式的和。该数据集由 COMSOL Multiphysics® 软件自动生成。
没有活塞项和散焦项的光学像差图。 光学像差图:不包含活塞项和散焦项 除活塞 (Z00) 项和散焦 (Z20) 项以外的所有泽尼克多项式的和。此时更容易看到球差 (Z40) 的影响。

交叉光栅特征

您可以使用新的交叉光栅 特征将边界处理成具有两个不同周期性方向的周期性子结构。与此相反,现有的光栅 节点支持一个周期性方向,并在正交方向将子结构视为均质。您可以在交叉光栅阶梯光栅光谱仪模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中的“交叉光栅”特征设置,其中打开了“方程”栏。 “交叉光栅”特征设置 新的 交叉光栅特征“设置”窗口中的“方程”显示。

光栅功能改进

光栅 特征在 5.5 版本中进行了显著升级。现在,您可以单击添加衍射级 按钮,根据模型中所用射线的波长为光栅可能释放的所有衍射级自动创建子节点。此外,您还可以指定光栅的相对衍射级。这对闪耀光栅特别有用,在这种光栅中,具有最小相对级数的绝对衍射级是与闪耀角偏差最小的衍射级。您可以在白瞳阶梯光栅光谱仪模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

用于外部域和空域的空气模型

现在,您可以使用内置的 Edlen 模型将几何外部和未划分网格的域中的空白空间视为空气,该模型可以准确表示空气折射率随温度和压力的变化情况。基于此功能,您可以轻松地对光学系统进行建模,这些系统已针对大气条件而不是真空条件进行优化。外部域和未划分网格的域都必须均质的。外部温度和压力为标量输入,必须应用于整个区域。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中“几何光学”特征的“设置”窗口,其中显示 Air, Edlen 弥散模型处于选中状态。 “几何光学”特征设置 Air, Edlen (1953) 光色散模型可用于外部域和未划分网格的域。

以下模型使用了这一新功能:

新的释放类型:六边环型锥体

当您以锥体释放射线时,现在可以使用新的锥形分布 类型:六边环型。对于六边环型 锥体选项,射线从锥轴以均匀分布的角度释放,每个环比前一个环多六条射线。

光线呈圆锥形释放,用彩虹色箭头表示,从侧面看,箭头指向右侧。 六边环型锥体:侧视图 基于六边环型锥体释放,侧视图。
光线呈圆锥形释放,用彩虹色箭头表示,从正面看,箭头指向观察者。 六边环型锥体:前视图 基于六边环型锥体释放,前视图。

以下模型使用了这一新功能:

重命名的射线释放特征

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本已重命名射线释放特征。入口 现在称为从边界释放轴上的入口(在二维轴对称模型中)现在称为从对称轴释放

COMSOL Multiphysics UI 5.5 版本 UI,显示了“从边界释放”和“从对称轴释放”射线释放特征。 显示更新的射线释放特征名称 二维轴对称几何中 几何光学接口中的边界特征选择。

新的多面镜零件

您现在可以使用“射线光学模块”的“零件库”将多面镜添加到几何中。这些新的多面镜称为“球形多面镜(三维)”、“同轴锥形多面镜(三维)”和“离轴锥形多面镜(三维)”。您可以在凯克望远镜模型中看到“离轴锥形多面镜(三维)”零件的应用演示。

十六个多面镜零件以黄色和灰色显示。 多面镜零件 新的多面镜零件与现有的反射镜零件类似。您可以指定边数和所得多边形的方向,从而得到球面、同轴锥面和离轴锥面的多面镜(均有可能)。

非球面透镜和反射镜零件

新版本对“射线光学模块”的“零件库”中的非球面透镜和反射镜进行了修正,并添加了多个新零件:

  • 偶次非球面透镜(三维)(改进后替代了“非球面透镜(三维)”,后者已移至旧零件)
  • 偶次非球面反射镜(三维)
  • 奇次非球面透镜(三维)
  • 奇次非球面反射镜(三维)
  • Q 型 Qbfs 非球面透镜(三维)
  • Q 型 Qbfs 非球面反射镜(三维)
  • Q 型 Qcon 非球面透镜(三维)
  • Q 型 Qcon 非球面反射镜(三维)

此处的“Q 型”表示一种用于定义透镜或反射镜表面凹陷的正交多项式基。"Qbfs" 和 "Qcon" 分别表示用于描述与“最佳拟合球面”和圆锥曲线的偏离量的多项式。与偶次和奇次非球面相比,定义 Q 型非球面的优势在于,所有多项式系数都具有相同的数量级,因此,由于舍入而导致数值误差的风险较小。您可以在微型相机模组施密特-卡塞格林望远镜模型中看到“偶次非球面透镜(三维)”的应用演示。

双合透镜和三合透镜零件

“射线光学模块”的“零件库”中新增了两个多重态透镜零件:“球面双合透镜(三维)”和“球面三合透镜(三维)”。对于这两个零件,用户可以指定各个透镜是黏合在一起,还是它们之间存在气隙。您可以在交叉光栅阶梯光栅光谱仪模型中看到“球面双合透镜(三维)”的应用演示。

在图表旁以灰色显示的三维球面双合透镜零件。 双合透镜零件 “球面双合透镜(三维)”零件。
在图表旁以灰色显示的三维球面三合透镜零件。 三合透镜零件 “球面三合透镜(三维)”零件。

预览栅格释放位置

现在,当您使用从栅格释放 特征从点栅格释放粒子时,可以在图形 窗口中预览粒子的初始位置。在设置 窗口的初始坐标 栏中,单击预览初始坐标 按钮可以查看作为点栅格显示的粒子初始坐标。单击预览初始范围 按钮可以查看初始坐标的空间范围(显示为边框)。通过这些按钮,您可以在运行研究之前检查粒子的初始位置。

此外,当您右键单击研究 节点并单击获取初始值 时,可以预览所有释放类型的粒子初始位置和速度。

COMSOL Multiphysics 模型 UI,其中的初始粒子坐标显示为点栅格。 显示为点栅格的初始粒子坐标 单击 预览初始坐标按钮后的 图形窗口。
COMSOL Multiphysics 模型 UI,其中初始粒子坐标的空间范围显示为一个边框。 初始粒子坐标的空间范围 单击 预览初始范围按钮后的 图形窗口。

各向同性散射壁条件

现在,您可以选择各向同性散射 作为粒子击中几何边界时的壁条件。与漫散射 条件类似,各向同性散射 条件使粒子在面法向周围以随机采样的速度方向进行反射。不过,漫散射 条件使用基于余弦定律的概率分布,而各向同性散射 条件遵循的概率分布在半球的任何微分立体角上都给出相等的通量。

图中将漫散射壁条件与各向同性散射壁条件进行比较。 散射壁条件比较 漫散射(左)与各向同性散射(右)壁条件的比较图。每侧显示的分布都包含 1000 个粒子。

新的教学案例和 App

5.5 版本新增了多个教学案例和 App。

Ray Optics Module Updates

For users of the Ray Optics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 brings multiscale modeling with new features to couple frequency-domain electromagnetics with the RF Module or Wave Optics Module to ray optics, a dedicated Spot Diagram plot that makes postprocessing much easier, and improvements to the Grating boundary condition, including a dedicated Cross Grating feature. Learn about these and other Ray Optics Module updates in more detail below.

Multiscale Electromagnetics Modeling

Two new ray release features enable multiscale electromagnetics modeling with the Ray Optics Module in combination with the RF Module or the Wave Optics Module. The functionality is seamless and fully integrated in the Model Builder workflow.

The Settings window for the Release from Electric Field feature in COMSOL Multiphysics. Release from Electric Field feature settings The combined ray tracing and full wave modeling settings in the Model Builder.

In this case, multiscale means that waves are modeled over length scales comparable to the wavelength as well as length scales that could be much larger. The finite element method (FEM) is used at the wavelength scale and a ray tracing approach is used for modeling propagation over long distances.

Use the new Release from Electric Field feature to launch rays from a surface; the initial intensity and polarization of the rays are taken from the electric field in an adjacent region. This allows you to first model electromagnetic wave propagation over a distance comparable to the wavelength, using the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain interface or Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interface, and then extend the model over a much longer distance via ray tracing. Similarly, you can use the new Release from Far-Field Radiation Pattern feature to launch rays outward from a point, or grid of points, based on a far-field function defined in a previous study. When releasing rays, you can transform the radiation pattern by specifying Euler angles. This allows you to release rays from many different antenna orientations, without having to recompute the radiation pattern.

A model of a Gaussian beam visualized as a grayscale slice plot and released rays visualized as arrows and polarization ellipses. Gaussian beam and released rays A Gaussian beam is modeled for a small number of wavelengths using the Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interface (grayscale slice plot). Then, rays are released from the boundary of the modeling domain. Polarization ellipses are drawn along the rays.
A dipole antenna is modeled with rays released outward in every direction. Dipole antenna with released rays A dipole antenna, modeled in the frequency domain, and its far-field radiation pattern are shown at the center. Then, rays are released in every direction, taking their intensity and polarization from this radiation pattern.
Four models of a dipole antenna with rays released at different combinations of Euler angles. Dipole antenna with rays released at different Euler angles Dipole antenna with its far-field radiation pattern, shown with rays released at the default Euler angles (top-left). Rays are released from three other points with different combinations of Euler angles.

You can see this new functionality in the following models:

Spot Diagram Plot

With the dedicated Spot Diagram plot, you can more easily plot the intersection points of rays with a surface, significantly speeding up the postprocessing of ray optics models. The surface can either be a physical boundary in the geometry or a virtual boundary created by the Intersection Point 3D dataset.

The Spot Diagram plot includes dedicated tools for customizing and organizing the plot, such as:

  • Filtering rays out so they do not appear in the plot
  • Sorting the rays based on wavelength or field angle so they appear as an array of distinct spots
  • Automatically locating the plane of minimal root mean square (RMS) spot size and creating a dataset there
  • Displaying text annotations such as spot size, wavelength, and position
A spot diagram of a double Gauss lens system shown in rainbow coloring. Spot diagram: Nominal image plane Spot diagram in the nominal image plane of a double Gauss lens system. From the Double Gauss Lens tutorial in the Application Libraries.
A spot diagram in the best focus of a double Gauss lens system. Spot diagram: 'Best focus' plane Spot diagram in the "best focus" plane of the double Gauss lens system. The position of the intersecting plane was automatically computed to minimize the RMS spot size.
A collage of nine spot diagrams where the spots are sorted by wavelength. Spot diagrams for a white pupil échelle spectrograph Spot diagram array from the White Pupil Échelle Spectrograph model in the Application Libraries. The spots are sorted by wavelength.

You can see this new functionality in the following models:

Improvements to the Optical Aberration Plot

The Optical Aberration plot has new settings that make it easier to compute the Zernike polynomial coefficients that describe monochromatic aberrations. There are built-in filter options to remove rays based on wavelength, number of reflections, or release feature. There is also a new command to automatically define a reference hemisphere centered at the rms focus. You can see this new functionality in the Double Gauss Lens and Newtonian Telescope Structural Analysis models.

An optical aberration plot for the sum of all Zernike polynomials. Optical aberration plot: All Zernike polynomials Sum of all Zernike polynomials in the RMS focus of the double Gauss lens system. The dataset was generated automatically by the COMSOL Multiphysics® software.
An optical aberration plot without the piston and defocus terms. Optical aberration plot: Excluding piston and defocus terms Sum of all Zernike polynomials except for the piston (Z00) and defocus (Z20) terms. It is now easier to see the effect of spherical aberration (Z40).

Cross Grating Feature

Use the new Cross Grating feature to treat a boundary as a periodic substructure with two different directions of periodicity. In contrast, the existing Grating node allows one direction of periodicity and treats the substructure as homogeneous in the orthogonal direction. You can see this new functionality in the Cross Grating Échelle Spectrograph model.

The Cross Grating feature settings in COMSOL Multiphysics with the Equation section open. Cross Grating feature settings Equation display in the Settings window for the new Cross Grating feature.

Grating Improvements

The Grating feature has been significantly upgraded in version 5.5. You can now click an Add Diffraction Orders button to automatically create subnodes for all of the diffraction orders that the grating might release, based on the wavelengths of rays used in the model. Alternatively, you can specify relative diffraction orders for the grating. This is particularly useful in blazed gratings, where the absolute diffraction orders with the lowest relative order numbers are those that show the smallest deviation from the blaze angle. You can see this new functionality in the White Pupil Échelle Spectrograph model.

Air Model for Exterior and Void Domains

You can now treat the empty space outside the geometry, and in unmeshed domains, as air using the built-in Edlen model, which accurately expresses the refractive index of air as a function of temperature and pressure. This allows you to easily model optical systems that have been optimized for atmospheric, rather than vacuum, conditions. As always, exterior and unmeshed domains must be homogeneous. The exterior temperature and pressure are scalar inputs that must apply over the entire region.

The Settings window for the Geometrical Optics feature in COMSOL Multiphysics showing that the Air, Edlen dispersion model has been selected. Geometrical Optics feature settings The Air, Edlen (1953) optical dispersion model can be used in exterior and unmeshed domains.

You can see this new functionality in the following models:

New Release Type: Hexapolar Cone

When you release rays in a cone, a new type of Conical distribution is available: Hexapolar. For the Hexapolar cone option, rays are released at uniformly distributed angles from the cone axis, with each ring having six more rays than the previous one.

Rays released in a cone shape visualized with arrows of rainbow coloring, seen from the side so the arrows point to the right. Hexapolar cone: Side view Hexapolar-cone-based release, side view.
Rays released in a cone shape visualized with arrows of rainbow coloring, seen from the front so the arrows point at the viewer. Hexapolar cone: Front view Hexapolar-cone-based release, front view.

You can see this new functionality in the following models:

Renamed Ray Release Features

Ray release features have been renamed in COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5. The Inlet is now called Release from Boundary, and the Inlet on Axis (in 2D axisymmetric models) is now called Release from Symmetry Axis.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI in version 5.5 showing the Release from Boundary and Release from Symmetry Axis ray release features. Showing the updated ray release feature names Choice of boundary features in the Geometrical Optics interface in a 2D axisymmetric geometry.

New Polygonal Mirror Parts

You can now add polygonal mirrors to the geometry using the Part Libraries for the Ray Optics Module. The new polygonal mirrors are named Spherical Polygonal Mirror 3D, Conic Polygonal Mirror On Axis 3D, and Conic Polygonal Mirror Off Axis 3D. You can see the Conic Polygonal Mirror Off Axis 3D part used in the Keck Telescope model.

Sixteen polygonal mirror parts shown in yellow and gray. Polygonal mirror parts The new polygonal mirror parts are similar to the existing mirror parts. The number of sides and the orientation of the resulting polygon can be specified. Spherical, on-axis conic, and off-axis conic polygonal mirrors are all possible.

Aspheric Lens and Mirror Parts

The aspheric lenses and mirrors in the Part Libraries for the Ray Optics Module have been revised, and several new parts are available:

  • Aspheric Even Lens 3D (improved replacement for the Aspheric Lens 3D, which has moved to legacy parts)
  • Aspheric Even Mirror 3D
  • Aspheric Odd Lens 3D
  • Aspheric Odd Mirror 3D
  • Aspheric Q-type Qbfs Lens 3D
  • Aspheric Q-type Qbfs Mirror 3D
  • Aspheric Q-type Qcon Lens 3D
  • Aspheric Q-type Qcon Mirror 3D

Here, "Q-type" indicates a type of orthogonal polynomial basis that is used to define the lens or mirror surface sag. "Qbfs" and "Qcon" indicate that the polynomials describe the deviation from a "best-fit sphere" and a conic, respectively. The advantage of defining Q-type aspheres over the even and odd aspheres is that all of the polynomial coefficients have about the same order of magnitude, so there is less risk of numerical error due to roundoff. You can see the Aspheric Even Lens 3D used in the Compact Camera Module and Schmidt Cassegrain Telescope models.

Doublet and Triplet Lens Parts

Two new multiplet lens parts are now available in the Part Libraries for the Ray Optics Module: Spherical Doublet Lens 3D and Spherical Triplet Lens 3D. For both of these parts, you can specify whether the individual lenses are cemented together or if there is an air gap between them. You can see the Spherical Doublet Lens 3D in the Cross Grating Échelle Spectrograph model.

The 3D spherical doublet lens part shown in gray alongside a diagram. Doublet lens part The Spherical Doublet Lens 3D part.
The 3D spherical triplet lens part shown in gray alongside a diagram. Triplet lens part The Spherical Triplet Lens 3D part.

Preview Grid Release Positions

When you release particles from a grid of points using the Release from Grid feature, you can now preview the initial particle positions in the Graphics window. In the Initial Coordinates section of the Settings window, click the Preview Initial Coordinates button to view the initial particle coordinates as a grid of points. Click the Preview Initial Extents button to view the spatial extents of the initial coordinates as a bounding box. These buttons allow you to check the initial particle positions before running a study.

In addition, when you right-click a Study node and click Get Initial Value, you can preview the initial particle positions and velocities for all release types.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing a model where the initial particle coordinates are viewed as a grid of points. Initial particle coordinates viewed as a point grid Graphics window after clicking the Preview Initial Coordinates button.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing a model where the spatial extents of the initial particle coordinates are shown as a bounding box. Initial particle coordinates' spatial extents Graphics window after clicking the Preview Initial Extents button.

Isotropic Scattering Wall Condition

You can now select Isotropic scattering as the wall condition when particles hit boundaries in the geometry. Like the Diffuse scattering condition, the Isotropic scattering condition causes particles to be reflected with randomly sampled velocity directions around the surface normal. However, whereas the Diffuse scattering condition uses a probability distribution based on the cosine law, the Isotropic scattering condition follows a probability distribution that gives equal flux across any differential solid angle in the hemisphere.

The diffuse scattering wall condition is compared to the isotropic scattering wall condition. Scattering wall condition comparison Comparison of the diffuse (left) and isotropic (right) scattering wall conditions. Each side shows a distribution of 1000 particles.

New Tutorial Models and Applications

Version 5.5 brings several new tutorial models and applications.