RF 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“RF 模块”的用户引入了混合模式 S 参数、两个新的端口 类型以及一个新的比吸收率特征。请阅读以下内容,了解有关这些特征的更多信息。

比吸收率

用户在使用带有发射器件的消费类电子产品时会受到射频辐射,通常人们用比吸收率 (SAR)的数值来表征组织吸收的射频能率。5.5 版本中新增了预定义的比吸收率 (SAR),可直接作为后处理变量使用。Wi-Fi 天线附近人体头部的 SAR 模型演示了这一新特征。

靠近天线的人体头部的模型,其中比吸收率以蓝色显示。 靠近 Wi-Fi 天线的人体头部 人体头部的 SAR 计算。

混合模式 S 参数

混合模式 S 参数描述了通过以下两种模式(共模和差模)激励和终止平衡端口时电路的响应情况,采用由四个单端线路组成的四端口网络的完整 S 参数矩阵进行计算。您可以在混合模式 S 参数分析模型中看到这一新特征的应用演示。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中使用混合模式 S 参数建模的微带线及相关设置。 在模型中使用混合模式 S 参数 设置窗口显示了用于定义混合模式 S 参数的四端口网络的方程显示和示意图。结果显示电场和 S 参数。

全波与射线光学仿真耦合

现在,您可以通过将“射线光学模块”与“RF 模块”耦合,同时运行全波和射线追踪仿真,从而能够进行多尺度电磁建模,例如分析无法使用全波仿真进行计算的通过波导传播进入大房间的光。为了实现这种耦合,“射线光学模块”的几何光学 接口中新增了两个特征:基于电场释放基于远场辐射方向图释放,可分别基于全波仿真中的近场或远场释放射线。您可以在包含偶极天线源的射线光学(三维)包含偶极天线源的射线光学(二维轴对称)模型中看到这些新特征的应用演示。

示例模型描述了通过射线追踪分析的室内电磁波传播。释放射线的强度、偏振和相位以 2.4 GHz 频率下工作的印刷偶极天线的远场辐射方向图为基础。

新端口类型

横向电磁 (TEM) 端口边界条件通常在微带线和接地平面的建模域的每一侧使用。新的 TEM 型端口通过添加电势和接地子特征来完成,其中边界上微带线顶部迹线的边被设为电势,而接地平面的边被设为接地。

新型集总端口过孔 可用于激励或终止电路板中过孔形成的圆柱。过孔是镀在圆柱孔内侧的金属导体,从电路板的一侧通向另一侧。您可以在带过孔的微带线建模模型中看到这些新特征的应用演示。

贴有接地和电势标签的微带线器件模型。 使用 TEM 和过孔端口类型 一个新的教学案例,说明了如何对带过孔的微带线器件使用新端口类型。
COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面中显示一个微带线器件,“图形”窗口旁边显示了“集总端口”的设置窗口。 使用“过孔”集总端口类型 示例模型中显示的用于模拟过孔和电场的新集总端口类型的设置。

端口的使用

在设计具有任意大小馈电结构的电路时,我们经常忽视波导中的截止频率。这有可能导致不需要的频率意外地成为仿真的一部分,不免延长了求解时间。现在,您可以计算这些频率并将其从仿真中移除。对于集总端口 特征,您可以根据用户定义的相对磁导率计算同轴线阻抗。对于端口 特征,在使用矩形或圆形端口时,您可以根据用户定义的相对磁导率计算波导截止频率。

附加材料属性集

“RF 模块”中的材料库已得到扩展,新增了来自 Premix 集团公司的 25 种介电材料,可用于模拟 5G、物联网、卫星通信、汽车雷达和毫米波应用中的毫米波器件。

由 Premix 集团公司制造的米色材料制成的两个介质透镜。 介质透镜 由 Premix 集团公司的 PREPERM® 低损耗介电材料制成的介质透镜。图片由 Premix Oy 提供。

二维轴对称模型新增更有效的三维天线函数

除了以前可用的远场模函数以外,新版本还为二维轴对称模型提供了一组新的三维远场增益和实际增益函数。这些新函数对于具有正方位角模数的圆形端口的天线的轴对称建模非常有用,这一新功能使二维轴对称模型在快速估算远场响应方面更显优势。

以下模型演示了这一功能:

以红色、白色和蓝色显示远场模式可视化效果的两个天线模型。 远场模式 三维远场模式由旋转体(左)和在二维轴对称模型中使用远场函数重建的有效三维远场模式(右)组成。

求解时绘制 S 参数

现在,在您生成默认的 S 参数结果图后,该绘图将以类似于探针图的方式随着频率或参数化扫描过程进行更新。这一功能对于计算大型模型的中间性能非常有用,使您无需完整地运行仿真。

RF 模块插件

App 开发器发布亮点页面所述,您现在可以构建执行特定任务的 App 供一般使用,然后将它们加载到任何适用的 MPH 文件中。您可以前往开发工具 选项卡并单击插件库 来访问两个已经构建好的插件。

S 参数分析插件

此插件可帮助您根据分贝标度的 S 参数 图找到最大值、最小值和带宽。您可以使用设置 窗口中的工具栏按钮为计算的最大值、最小值和带宽添加标注,或移除所选一维绘图上的标注。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本中“S 参数分析”插件的设置。 使用插件进行 S 参数分析 用于计算 S 参数扫描的各种属性的新插件。

Touchstone 导出插件

此插件采用已有的解导出 Touchstone 文件。如果不是通过端口扫描计算出解,则生成的 Touchstone 文件基于倒数 S 参数响应。使用设置 窗口中的工具栏按钮导出 Touchstone 文件,其中包含端口扫描解中的完整 S 参数解或单端口激励解的倒数 S 参数。

散射和匹配边界条件的高斯光束输入选项

散射匹配 边界条件的入射场 组合框添加了一个新选项。选择高斯光束 选项后,可以定义任意方向传播的高斯光束,它是由傍轴高斯光束公式定义。您可以在以 Brewster 角入射的高斯光束自聚焦模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示“匹配边界条件 1”的“设置”窗口,和“图形”窗口中的一个模型。 使用高斯光束入射场选项 Brewster 角模型采用 高斯光束入射场选项,结果显示了仿真的场图。

偏振图和 Jones 矢量变量

现在,默认情况下,“周期性”端口会创建偏振 图,描绘不同衍射级的偏振状态,并且基于新增的 Jones 矢量单元后处理变量。同样,用于定义 Jones 矢量的基矢也可用于绘图和计算。您可以在频率选择表面周期性互补开口环谐振器模型中看到此功能的应用演示。

高斯光束背景场的倏逝波

现在,选中允许倏逝波 框后,当使用平面波展开 选项定义高斯光束背景场时,倏逝波可以包含在展开选项中。当模拟远离焦点传播的紧密聚焦的高斯光束(光斑半径小于波长)时,此选项非常有用。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示“电磁波,频域”接口的“设置”窗口,和右侧“图形”窗口中的一个模型。 在模型中包含倏逝波 设置窗口显示 允许倏逝波复选框。结果显示了光斑半径为半波长的高斯光束的场。

散射和匹配边界条件的参考点

现在,参考点 属性可在输入场处于活动状态时用于电磁波,频域电磁波,波束包络 接口的散射边界条件匹配边界条件。参考位置定义为所选点的平均位置。此特征主要在域材料包含吸收或增益时有用。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中“参考点”属性的“设置”窗口以及“图形”窗口中的一个模型。 使用参考点属性 可以将 参考点属性视为“模型开发器”窗口中 散射边界条件特征的子节点。“图形”窗口显示了用于定义平均位置的点选择。给定五个突出显示的点,平均位置将出现在半球的中心。

新的教学案例

5.5 版本新增了三个教学案例。

Wi-Fi 天线附近人体头部的 SAR

顶部靠近 Wi-Fi 天线的人体头部模型。 人体头部和 Wi-Fi 天线 人体头部 SAR 的体积图、贴片天线电场模的表面图和脑组织近似模型内电场模的等值面图。

“案例库”标题:
sar_wifi_antenna
从“案例下载”页面下载

混合模式 S 参数分析

灰色电路板上两条橙色相邻微带线的模型。 微带线电路板:混合模式 用集总端口建模的微带线电路板模型,用于混合模式 S 参数计算。

“案例库”标题:
microstrip_line_mixed_mode
从“案例下载”页面下载

带过孔的微带线建模

电路板上带有圆柱形过孔的两条相邻微带线的模型。 微带线电路板:过孔 使用新的 TEM 端口过孔型集总端口建模的微带线电路板模型。

“案例库”标题:
microstripline_tem_via
从“案例下载”页面下载


PREPERM® 是 Premix Oy 的注册商标。

RF Module Updates

For users of the RF Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes mixed-mode S-parameters, two new Port types, and a new specific absorption rate feature. Learn more about these features below.

Specific Absorption Rate

Users of consumer electronics with radiating devices are exposed to RF emission, and the amount of exposure is characterized by the specific absorption rate (SAR). The RF energy rate absorbed by tissue is represented by the SAR value and is now directly available as a predefined postprocessing variable. This new feature is demonstrated in the SAR of a Human Head Next to a Wi-Fi Antenna model.

A model of a human head next to an antenna and the specific absorption rate visualized in blue. Head next to a Wi-Fi antenna SAR computation in a human head.

Mixed-Mode S-Parameters

Mixed-mode S-parameters describe the response of a circuit with balanced ports excited and terminated by two mode types: common and differential modes. They are calculated using a full S-parameter matrix of a four-port network that is composed of four single-ended lines. You can see this new feature used in the Mixed-Mode S-Parameters Analysis model.

A microstrip line is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics using mixed-mode S-parameters and the settings are shown. Using mixed-mode S-parameters in a model The Settings window shows the equation display and schematic of a four-port network as used to define mixed-mode S-parameters. The results show the electric field and S-parameters.

Full-Wave and Ray Optics Simulation Coupling

You can now run simultaneous full-wave and ray tracing simulations by combining the Ray Optics Module functionality with your RF Module simulations. This enables multiscale electromagnetic modeling, such as analyzing a waveguide beaming into a large room, where a full-wave simulation would be computationally prohibitive. To facilitate this coupling, two new features Release from Electric Field and Release from Far-Field Radiation Pattern have been added to the Geometrical Optics interface in the Ray Optics Module that release rays based on either a near or far field from a full-wave simulation. You can see these new features demonstrated in the Ray Optics with a Dipole Antenna Source (3D) and Ray Optics with a Dipole Antenna Source (2D Axisymmetric) models.

The showcase model describes indoor electromagnetic wave propagation analyzed by ray tracing. The intensity, polarization, and phase of the released rays are based on the far-field radiation pattern of a printed dipole antenna operating at 2.4 GHz.

New Port Types

A Transverse electromagnetic (TEM) port boundary condition is typically used on each side of the modeling domain for a microstrip line and ground plane. The new TEM type of port is completed by adding electric potential and ground subfeatures. The edge of the microstrip line top trace on the TEM port boundary is set to electric potential, while the edge of the ground plane on the TEM port boundary is set to ground.

The new type of lumped port, Via, is useful for exciting or terminating the cylindrical shape formed by a via in a circuit board. A via is a metal conductor plated on the inside of a cylindrical hole that leads from one side of a circuit board to another. You can see these new features used in the Modeling of Microstrip Lines with Vias model.

A microstrip line device model with the ground and electric potential labeled. Using the TEM and Via port types A new tutorial model illustrating how to use the new port types for a microstrip line device with vias.
A microstrip line device is shown in the COMSOL Multiphysics UI with the Settings window for the Lumped Port shown next to the Graphics window. Using the Via lumped port type The settings for the new lumped port type for modeling vias and the electric field shown in an example model.

Port Utility

When designing a circuit with an arbitrarily sized feed structure, the cutoff frequency in a waveguide is often overlooked. As a result, the unwanted frequency may accidentally be part of the simulation resulting in unnecessarily long solution times. You can now calculate and remove those frequencies from the simulation. For the Lumped Port feature, you can compute the coaxial line impedance based on a user-defined relative permeability. For the Port feature, when using a rectangular or circular port, you can compute the waveguide cutoff frequency based on a user-defined relative permeability.

Additional Set of Material Properties

The material library within the RF Module has been extended with an additional 25 dielectric materials from the company Premix Group. The new materials can be used when modeling millimeter-wave devices for 5G, IoT, SatCom, automotive radar, and mmWave applications.

Two dielectric lenses made of a cream-colored material fabricated by Premix Group. Dielectric lens Dielectric lens fabricated by Premix Group's PREPERM® low-loss dielectric material. Image courtesy of Premix Oy.

More Effective 3D Antenna Functions from 2D Axisymmetric Models

As an addition to the previously available far-field norm functions, a new set of 3D far-field gain and realized gain functions are available for 2D axisymmetric models. These new functions are useful for axisymmetric modeling of antennas with circular ports that have a positive azimuthal mode number. This new functionality makes 2D axisymmetric models more useful for the purpose of getting a quick estimate of the far-field response.

You can see this functionality demonstrated in the following models:

Two antenna models visualizing the far-field pattern in red, white, and blue. Far-field patterns The 3D far-field pattern composed of body-of-revolution (left) and a reconstructed effective 3D far-field pattern using the far-field function in a 2D axisymmetric model (right).

Plot S-Parameters While Solving

When you generate the default S-parameter results plot, the plot will now be updated as a frequency or a parametric sweep progresses in a way that is similar to that of a probe plot. This is useful for evaluating the intermediate performance of a large-sized model without running the simulation to its completion.

RF Module Add-Ins

As detailed on the Application Builder Release Highlights page, you can now build applications that perform specific tasks for general use and then load them into any MPH-file to which they are applicable. You can access two already built add-ins by going to the Developer tab and clicking the Add-in Libraries button.

S-Parameter Analysis Add-In

This add-in helps you find the maxima, minima, and bandwidth, based on a dB-scaled S-parameter plot. You can use toolbar buttons in the Settings window to add annotations for calculated maxima, minima, and bandwidth, or to remove the annotations on the chosen 1D plot.

The settings for the S-Parameter Analysis add-in in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5. Using the add-in for S-parameter analysis The new add-in for computing various properties for an S-parameter sweep.

Touchstone Export Add-In

This add-in exports a Touchstone file using already available solutions. If the solution is not computed from a port sweep, the generated Touchstone file is based on reciprocal S-parameter responses. Use the toolbar button in the Settings window to export a Touchstone file, with a full S-parameter solution from a port sweep solution or reciprocal S-parameters for a single port excitation solution.

Gaussian Beam Input Option for Scattering and Matched Boundary Conditions

The Scattering and Matched boundary conditions have a new option for the Incident field combo box. Choosing the Gaussian beam option allows for propagation of a Gaussian beam in an arbitrary direction. The Gaussian beam is defined from the paraxial Gaussian beam formula. You can see this new functionality in the Gaussian Beam Incident at the Brewster Angle and Self-Focusing models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI is shown with the Settings window for Matched Boundary Condition 1 and a model in the Graphics window. Using the Gaussian beam incident field option The Brewster Angle model uses the Gaussian beam incident field option, and the results show a field plot from the simulation.

Polarization Plots and Jones Vector Variables

Periodic ports now create a Polarization plot by default. The Polarization plot depicts the polarization state for the different diffraction orders and is based on new postprocessing variables for Jones vector elements. Also, the base vectors, used for defining the Jones vectors, are available for plotting and evaluation. You can see this new functionality in the Frequency-Selective Surface, Periodic Complementary Split Ring Resonator model.

Evanescent Waves for Gaussian Beam Background Fields

When using the Plane wave expansion option for defining a Gaussian beam background field, evanescent waves can now be included in the expansion by checking an Allow evanescent waves box. This option can be useful when simulating a tightly focused Gaussian beam, where the spot radius is smaller than the wavelength, propagating away from the focus.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI with the Settings window for the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain interface shown and a model in the Graphics window to the right. Including evanescent waves in a model The Settings window shows the Allow evanescent waves check box. The results show the field for a Gaussian beam with a spot radius of half a wavelength.

Reference Points for Scattering and Matched Boundary Conditions

The Reference Point attribute is now available for the Scattering Boundary Condition and Matched Boundary Condition for the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain and Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interfaces, when an input field is active. The reference position is defined as the average position of the selected points. This feature is mainly useful when the domain material includes absorption or gain.

The Settings window for the Reference Point attribute is shown alongside a model in the Graphics window in COMSOL Multiphysics. Using the Reference Point attribute The Reference Point attribute can be seen as a subnode to the Scattering Boundary Condition feature in the Model Builder window. The Graphics window shows the point selection used for defining the average position. Given the five highlighted points, the average position will appear at the center of the semisphere.

New Tutorial Models

Version 5.5 brings three new tutorial models.

SAR of a Human Head Next to a Wi-Fi Antenna
A model of a human head with the top exposed next to a Wi-Fi antenna. Head and Wi-Fi antenna A volume plot of the SAR of a human head, surface plot of the electric field norm of a patch antenna, and isosurface plot of the electric field norm inside an approximate model of brain tissue.

Application Library Title:
sar_wifi_antenna

Download from the Application Gallery

Mixed-Mode S-Parameter Analysis
A model of two orange adjacent microstrip lines on a gray circuit board. Microstrip line circuit board: Mixed mode Microstrip line circuit board modeled with lumped ports for the purpose of a mixed-mode S-parameter calculation.

Application Library Title:
microstrip_line_mixed_mode

Download from the Application Gallery

Modeling of Microstrip Lines with Vias
A model of two adjacent microstrip lines with cylindrical vias on a circuit board. Microstrip line circuit board: Vias Microstrip line circuit board modeled with the new TEM port and Via type of lumped port.

Application Library Title:
microstripline_tem_via

Download from the Application Gallery




PREPERM® is a registered trademark of Premix Oy.