复合材料模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“复合材料模块”的用户引入了多层壳接触、超弹性、塑性、压电、活化、脱层、新的失效准则,以及多层壳与流体流动和声学相结合的多物理场耦合功能。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“复合材料模块”的所有更新功能。

多层壳接口中的压电材料

通过在多层壳 接口中加入压电材料建模功能,支持对薄片式压电器件和传感器(其中将压电材料嵌入复合材料层合板中)进行建模。为了方便建立模型,新增了压电,多层壳 多物理场接口,可以将多层壳多层壳中的电流 这两个物理场接口结合多层压电效应 特征实现多物理场耦合。您可以在新的多层壳中的压电现象模型中看到此功能的应用演示。请注意,除了“结构力学模块”和“复合材料模块”,您还需要“AC/DC 模块”或“MEMS 模块”才能使用此功能。

多层壳模型,其中间层由压电材料制成。 采用压电材料的多层壳 中间嵌有压电层的多层壳。压电层(彩色线框图)和金属层(彩色图)分别显示轴向压缩和面外位移。

多层壳接口中的超弹性材料

通过在多层壳 接口中添加超弹性材料,支持对复合壳中的大应变进行建模,其中一些层由橡胶或其他类型的弹性体构成。请注意,除了“结构力学模块”和“复合材料模块”,您还需要“非线性结构材料模块”才能使用此功能。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的复合材料面板,其中突出显示超弹性层,并显示“多层壳”接口设置。 采用超弹性材料的复合材料面板 夹层复合材料面板模型,其外部为线弹性层(复合材料),中间突出显示的是超弹性层(橡胶材料)。

多层壳中的塑性

多层壳 接口的线弹性材料 节点中新增了塑性 特征,支持您模拟复合材料层合板的选定层中的塑性变形,例如夹层结构中的金属外层。塑性模型与固体力学 接口中的相同,只是假设其塑性应变较小。请注意,除了“结构力学模块”和“复合材料模块”,您还需要“非线性结构材料模块”才能使用此功能。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的多层壳,其中突出显示了塑性。 多层壳 多层壳模型,图中突出显示在顶层和底层对塑性建模。

多层壳接口中的材料活化

通过多层壳 接口的线弹性材料 中新增的活化 特征,您可以分析复合材料层合板中的应力状态,在其中添加或移除特定的层,当您想要模拟增材制造等工艺中的材料添加情况时,这一功能非常有用。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的多层壳,其中突出显示了使用材料活化的层。 使用材料活化的多层壳 多层壳中的材料活化,其中对中间边界的顶部两层进行活化。

多层壳接口中的接触建模

多层壳 接口中添加了接触建模功能。您可以分析多层壳边界与使用其他结构物理场接口(甚至是未附加物理场接口的任意已划分网格的表面)模拟的边界之间的接触。当前版本中假设这是一种无摩擦接触。

复合材料层合板模型,其顶部为圆柱形网格,层合板中的应力分布用红色、黄色和绿色显示。 复合材料层合板中的应力分布 复合材料层合板与圆柱表面的接触建模,图中显示不同层中的应力分布。

多层壳接口中的分层

多层复合材料中常见的失效模式为层间的界面破坏或分层。您现在可以使用多层壳 接口中的新分层 特征对渐进分层进行建模,新版本提供了多个不同的基于位移和基于能量的内聚力模型,可以结合不同的牵引分离定律来描述损伤。当两个层处于分层状态时,无论是初始状态还是受到外加载荷,为了避免层间渗透,都会存在接触条件。复合材料层合板的混合模式分层层压壳中的渐进分层模型使用了此功能。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中模拟的发生脱层的复合材料层合板,其中显示三维和一维绘图。 混合模式脱层示例 复合材料层合板在压缩载荷作用下发生界面破坏(或脱层)。与不同载荷值对应的损伤区以红色显示。从图中可以看到层合板的外加载荷与总损伤面积,以便进行比较。

新增用于多层壳的失效准则

通过安全性 特征,您可以使用许多不同的失效准则来评估结构的完整性。在多层壳 接口和 接口的多层线弹性材料 节点中,为纤维复合材料添加了一组新的失效准则,如下所示:

  • Zinoviev
  • Hashin–Rotem
  • Hashin
  • Puck
  • LaRC03

多层壳接口包含更多的多物理场耦合

新版本已为多层壳 接口添加更多的多物理场耦合功能,支持与流体流动和声学进行耦合。通过流-固耦合 这一耦合功能,您现在可以准确模拟不同应用中复合材料层合板与流体域的相互作用。与“声学模块”结合使用时,您还可以模拟声-结构边界热黏性声-结构边界气动声学-结构边界 以及多孔介质-结构边界 多物理场耦合。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的多层壳,其表面与周围声学域相耦合。 多层壳-声相互作用示例 多层壳-声相互作用的示例,其中层压板的顶面和底面与周围声学域相耦合。

多层壳接口新增结构耦合

复合材料层合板通常以不同的构型与实体或标准壳单元连接,用于模拟真实结构。为了给壳单元和实体单元提供不同类型的耦合,多层壳 接口添加了两个新的结构耦合:多层壳-结构包层多层壳-结构过渡将多层壳与实体和壳连接模型演示了这一功能。

该模型用于分析与实体单元和壳单元连接的多层壳中的应力分布,其中显示彩色图和彩色线框图。 与实体和壳单元连接的多层壳 在包层和过渡构型中连接到实体和壳单元的多层壳。图中显示多层壳(纯色图)以及实体和壳构件(彩色线框图)中的应力分布。

壳和膜接口中的多层线弹性材料

多层线弹性材料 功能改进了与壳和膜的集成。此材料模型已添加到 接口,可用于模拟具有低抗弯刚度且非常薄的层合板。此外,此材料模型现在还可用于 接口中的二维轴对称模型,而以前只能用于三维几何模型。

在 5.5 版本中,您可以通过“结构力学模块”使用单层壳和膜。通过“复合材料模块”,这些分析可以扩展到多层壳和膜,其中每一层都可以扩展为包含热膨胀和黏弹性。如果您同时拥有“非线性结构材料模块”,还可以使用塑性和蠕变。

多层壳中的混合公式

如果您只将位移用作自由度,则几乎不可压缩的材料会引起数值问题。为避免多层壳中出现此类问题,新版本在多层壳 接口中添加了基于压力和应变的混合公式。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的多层壳,其中显示混合公式选项。 多层壳中的混合公式示例 在多层壳中选择混合公式。

多层壳中的可变层厚度

您现在可以模拟厚度随坐标变化的复合材料层合板的一层或多层。这一新功能可以通过多层材料链接多层材料堆叠 节点中新增的缩放 设置来实现。多层壳 接口以及 接口中的多层线弹性材料 节点支持可变厚度层。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的夹层复合材料面板,中间层具有可变厚度。 可变厚度层 夹层复合材料面板模型,中间层(显示为洋红色)具有可变厚度。

多层材料中的变换选项

现在,您可以在定义层合板叠层顺序时执行各种变换操作。这一新功能可以通过多层材料链接多层材料堆叠 节点中的变换 设置来实现,其中包括对称反对称重复 等变换类型。这使得通过以下操作模拟复杂的叠层顺序变得更加容易:仅定义对称/反对称层合板的一半叠层顺序(如果是重复层合板,则只定义单个单元)。

以下模型使用了这一功能:

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的反对称层合板,其中显示“多层材料链接”设置。 使用多层材料链接功能 使用 多层材料链接节点中的新变换功能创建反对称层合板。

新的“界面选择”选项

在包含界面选择 设置的物理场节点中,您现在可以直接选择某些常见的界面位置:顶部、底部、外部、内部或全部,从而可以更方便地建立模型并且更容易理解。多层壳 接口中常用的一些物理场节点包括:面载荷分层弹性薄层

以下模型演示了这一特征:

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的复合材料层合板,模型中使用“界面选择”特征为其中一个界面快速施加面载荷。 使用“界面选择”特征 图中的选项用于选择要施加 面载荷的界面。

三维实体几何可视化

在对复杂的层合板结构进行建模时,一个有用的做法是将相应的三维实体几何可视化,结果图现在自动显示在多层壳 接口采用的新的默认绘图中。软件会基于多层材料(未变形几何) 数据集生成灰色表面图。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建立的多层复合材料层合板模型,“图形”窗口中显示三维几何图形。 多层壳的三维实体几何可视化 六层复合材料层合板的三维实体几何表示(沿厚度方向缩放)。

纤维铺覆可视化

在建立多层材料模型时,您可以使用通过抽象几何图形创建的预览图将叠层顺序可视化。不过,通常需要在物理几何图形中将纤维铺覆可视化。5.5 版本的一个新增功能是创建默认绘图,从而在物理几何图形的每个铺层中将纤维方向可视化,此功能适用于使用多层壳 接口的模型。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建立的多层圆柱体模型,其中显示每一层的纤维铺覆方向。 复合材料气瓶中的纤维铺覆 第一主材料方向,在复合材料气瓶的每一层显示纤维铺覆方向。

多层材料数据集增强功能

用于绘制和评估多层壳结果的多层材料 数据集现在包含新的选项,可供您选择要评估的层或界面。这使复合材料层合板模型的后处理变得更加容易,而以前仅支持边界选择。此外,在派生值 节点中进行求值时,您还可以使用新的“全厚度位置”选项。新的将多层壳与实体和壳连接模型演示了这一功能。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的多层壳结构和参考实体,其中将表面应力可视化,并显示“多层材料设置”。 使用多层材料数据集 用于在 多层材料数据集中选择层的选项,以便仅在选定的层中绘制物理量。

多层材料切面图功能更新

多层材料切面 图现在支持自动创建多个切面。此外,新版本还添加了以下新功能:

  • 在界面上绘图(以前仅支持在层上绘制)
  • 使用层中面或类似选项在多个层上绘图
  • 使用多个切面时定义布局
  • 为每个切面添加层名称

多层材料切面 图是复合材料层合板的重要绘图,新功能可以简化绘制结果所需的步骤。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 建模的多层圆柱体,其中通过切面图显示每一层的应力。 创建多层材料切面图 用于在 多层材料切面图中选择层中面和定义布局的选项,以使用单个绘图节点在多个层中绘制物理量。

以下模型演示了这一功能:

全厚度图增强功能

对于包含许多层的复合材料层合板,添加界面线可以增加全厚度 图的清晰度。在 5.5 版本中,您可以自动添加这些界面线。除此之外,您还可以绘制物理量的全厚度变化图,这个量仅在层合板的一部分层上定义。

以下模型演示了这一功能:

新的教学案例和 App

5.5 版本新增了多个教学案例和 App。

层压壳中的渐进分层

复合材料层合板在压缩载荷作用下发生脱层,图中显示四个不同的载荷值,损伤区域显示为红色。 复合材料层合板的脱层:压缩载荷 复合材料层合板在压缩载荷作用下发生界面破坏(或脱层)。与不同载荷值对应的损伤区以红色显示。从图中可以看到层合板的外加载荷与总损伤面积,以便进行比较。

“案例库”标题:
progressive_delamination_in_a_laminated_shell
从“案例下载”页面下载

复合材料层合板的混合模式分层

复合材料层合板在混合模式载荷作用下发生脱层,图中显示四个不同的张开位移,损伤区域显示为红色。 复合材料层合板的脱层:混合模式载荷 复合材料层合板在混合模式载荷作用下发生界面破坏(或脱层)。与不同张开位移对应的损伤区以红色显示。图中显示载荷与位移曲线的变化关系,并将层合板与等效实体模型进行比较。

“案例库”标题:
mixed_mode_delamination
从“案例下载”页面下载

复合轮辋的应力和模态分析

复合材料汽车轮辋模型,其应力分布以黄色和深蓝色显示。 复合材料轮辋 由碳-环氧材料制成的复合材料轮辋模型,其中轮辋和轮辐中的层数不同。结果显示轮辋在指定充气压力和轮胎载荷下的应力分布。

“案例库”标题:
composite_wheel_rim
从“案例下载”页面下载

多层壳中的压电现象

多层壳建模示例,其中在压电层中显示轴向压缩和面外位移。 采用压电材料的多层壳 中间嵌有压电层的多层壳。压电层(彩色线框图)和金属层(彩色图)分别显示轴向压缩和面外位移。

“案例库”标题:
piezoelectric_layered
从“案例下载”页面下载

将多层壳与实体和壳连接

多层壳与实体和壳单元连接,图中显示了应力分布。 连接的多层壳 在包层和过渡构型中连接到实体和壳单元的多层壳模型。结果显示多层壳(彩色图)以及实体和壳构件(彩色线框图)中的应力分布。

“案例库”标题:
layered_shell_structure_connection
从“案例下载”页面下载

Composite Materials Module Updates

For users of the Composite Materials Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 brings contact in layered shells, hyperelasticity, plasticity, piezoelectricity, activation, delamination, new failure criteria, and multiphysics couplings for layered shells in combination with fluid flow and acoustics. Learn more about all these Composite Materials Module updates in more detail below.

Piezoelectric Material in Layered Shell Interface

The addition of the piezoelectric material modeling capability to the Layered Shell interface makes it possible to model thin piezoelectric devices and sensors where a piezoelectric material is embedded in a composite laminate. A new multiphysics interface, Piezoelectricity, Layered Shell has been added for a convenient setup of models. It combines the two physics interfaces Layered Shell and Electric Currents in Layered Shells with a Layered Piezoelectric Effect multiphysics coupling. You can see this functionality in the new Piezoelectricity in a Layered Shell model. Note that to access this functionality, you need either the AC/DC Module or MEMS Module in addition to the Structural Mechanics Module and the Composite Materials Module.

A layered shell model where the middle layer is made of piezoelectric material. Layered shell with piezoelectric material A layered shell with a piezoelectric layer embedded in the middle. The axial compression and out-of-plane displacement are shown in the piezoelectric layer (color wireframe plot) and in metal layers (color plot).

Hyperelastic Material in the Layered Shell Interface

The addition of hyperelastic materials to the Layered Shell interface makes it possible to model large strains in composite shells where some of the layers are made up of rubber or other types of elastomers. Note that to access this functionality, you need the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module in addition to the Structural Mechanics Module and Composite Materials Module.

A composite panel modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics with the hyperelastic layer highlighted and the Layered Shell interface settings shown. Composite panel with a hyperelastic material A sandwich composite panel having outer linear elastic layers (composite material) and a middle hyperelastic layer (rubber material), which is highlighted.

Plasticity in Layered Shells

The addition of the Plasticity feature to the Linear Elastic Material node in the Layered Shell interface makes it possible to model plastic deformation in selected layers of a composite laminate, for example the outer metal layers in a sandwich structure. The plasticity models are the same as in the Solid Mechanics interface, with the exception that the plastic strains are assumed to be small. Note that to access this functionality, you need the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module in addition to the Structural Mechanics Module and Composite Materials Module.

A layered shell modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics with the plasticity highlighted. Layered shell A layered shell in which plasticity is modeled in the top and bottom layers, which are highlighted.

Material Activation in Layered Shell Interface

The addition of the Activation feature to the Linear Elastic Material in the Layered Shell interface makes it possible to analyze the stress state in a composite laminate where certain layers are added or removed, which is useful when you want to model the addition of material during processes such as additive manufacturing.

A layered shell modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics with the layers using material activation highlighted. Layered shell with material activation Material activation in a layered shell where activation is used in the top two layers of the middle boundary.

Contact Modeling in the Layered Shell Interface

Contact modeling functionality has been added to the Layered Shell interface. You can analyze the contact between layered shell boundaries and boundaries modeled using other structural physics interfaces or even an arbitrary meshed surface having no physics interface attached. The contact is assumed to be frictionless.

A model of a composite laminate with a cylinder mesh on top and stress distribution in the laminate shown in red, yellow, and green. Stress distribution in a composite laminate Stress distribution in different layers of a composite laminate while modeling contact with a cylindrical surface.

Delamination in the Layered Shell Interface

A common failure mode in layered composites is interfacial failure or delamination between the layers. You can now model progressive delamination using the new Delamination feature in the Layered Shell interface. There are several different displacement-based and energy-based cohesive zone models available for describing the damage together with different traction separation laws. When two layers are in a delaminated state, either initially or after applying a load, there will still be a contact condition to avoid penetration between the layers. This functionality is used in the Mixed-Mode Delamination of a Composite Laminate and Progressive Delamination in a Laminated Shell models.

A composite laminate experiencing delamination is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and visualized in 3D and 1D. Mixed-mode delamination example A composite laminate experiencing interfacial failure (or delamination) under compressive loading. The damaged zone is shown in red for different load values. The applied load and total damage area in the laminate can be seen for comparison.

New Failure Criteria for Layered Shells

Using the Safety feature, you can assess the structural integrity using many different failure criteria. A set of new failure criteria have been added for fiber composites in the Layered Shell interface and in the Layered Linear Elastic Material node of the Shell interface. These new criteria are:

  • Zinoviev
  • Hashin–Rotem
  • Hashin
  • Puck
  • LaRC03

New Multiphysics Couplings for the Layered Shell Interface

New multiphysics couplings have been enabled for the Layered Shell interface to provide couplings with fluid flow and acoustics. You can now accurately model composite laminates interacting with fluid domains in different applications with the Fluid-Structure Interaction coupling. With the Acoustics Module, you can also model the Acoustics-Structure Boundary, Thermoviscous Acoustic-Structure Boundary, Aeroacoustics-Structure Boundary, and Porous-Structure Boundary multiphysics couplings.

A layered shell with surfaces coupled to surrounding acoustics domains modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics. Layered shell-acoustics interaction example Example of a layered shell-acoustics interaction where the top and bottom surfaces of a laminate are coupled to the surrounding acoustics domains.

New Structural Couplings for the Layered Shell Interface

Composite laminates are often connected with solid or standard shell elements in different configurations to model real-world structures. Two new structural couplings have been added to the Layered Shell interface in order to provide different types of couplings to shell and solid elements: Layered Shell - Structure Cladding and Layered Shell - Structure Transition. This functionality is demonstrated in the Connecting Layered Shells with Solids and Shells model.

A model for analyzing the stress distribution in a layered shell connected to solid and shell elements with color and wireframe plots. Layered shell connected to solid and shell elements A layered shell connected to solid and shell elements in cladding and transition configurations. Shown here is the stress distribution in the layered shell (solid color plot) as well as in the solid and shell members (color wireframe plot).

Layered Linear Elastic Material in the Shell and Membrane Interfaces

The Layered Linear Elastic Material functionality has improved integration with shells and membranes. This material model has been added to the Membrane interface where it can be used to model very thin laminates with low bending stiffness. Also, this material model can now be used in the Shell interface in 2D axisymmetry, whereas it was previously only available in 3D geometries.

In version 5.5, single-layer shells and membranes are accessible using the Structural Mechanics Module. With the Composite Materials Module, these analyses can be extended to multilayered shells and membranes, where each layer can be augmented to include thermal expansion or viscoelasticity. If you have the Nonlinear Structural Materials Module as well, plasticity and creep are also available.

Mixed Formulation in Layered Shells

Nearly incompressible materials can cause numerical problems if only displacements are used as degrees of freedom. To avoid such problems in a layered shell, pressure- and strain-based mixed formulations have been added to the Layered Shell interface.

A layered shell is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the options for mixed formulations are shown. Mixed formulation in layered shells example Selecting mixed formulation in a layered shell.

Variable Layer Thickness in Layered Shells

You can now model one or more layers of a composite laminate with a thickness that is a function of the coordinates. This new functionality is available through the new Scale setting in the Layered Material Link and Layered Material Stack nodes. Variable thickness layers are supported in the Layered Shell interface, as well as in the Layered Linear Elastic Material node in the Shell and Membrane interfaces.

A sandwich composite panel is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics where the middle layer has variable thickness. Layers with variable thickness A sandwich composite panel having variable thickness in the middle layer (shown in magenta).

Transform Option in Layered Materials

You can now perform various transformation operations while defining a laminate stacking sequence. This new functionality is available through the Transform setting in the Layered Material Link and Layered Material Stack nodes. The types of transforms are Symmetric, Antisymmetric, and Repeated. This makes it easier to model complex stacking sequences by defining only half of the stacking sequence for symmetric/antisymmetric laminates and a single unit in case of repeated laminates.

This functionality is used in the following models:

An antisymmetric laminate is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the Layered Material Link settings are shown. Using the Layered Material Link functionality Creating an antisymmetric laminate using the new transform functionality in the Layered Material Link node.

New Options for Interface Selection

In physics nodes that have the Interface Selection setting, there is now a direct way to select certain common interface locations: top, bottom, exterior, interior, or all. This makes the model setup more convenient and easier to understand. Some common applicable physics nodes in the Layered Shell interface are Face load, Delamination, and Thin Elastic Layer.

This feature is demonstrated in the following models:

A composite laminate is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the Interface Selection feature is being used for quickly applying a face load to one of the interfaces. Using the Interface Selection feature Options for selecting the interface on which to apply a Face Load.

Visualization of 3D Solid Geometry

When modeling complex laminate structures, it is useful to visualize the corresponding 3D solid geometry, which is now shown automatically in a new default plot used in the Layered Shell interface. A gray surface plot is generated from the Layered Material (Undeformed Geometry) dataset.

A multilayered composite laminate is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the 3D geometry is shown in the Graphics window. Visualizing the 3D solid geometry of a layered shell 3D solid geometric representation (scaled in the thickness direction) of a composite laminate having six layers.

Visualization of Fiber Draping

When setting up a layered material model, the stacking sequence can be visualized using preview plots, created using an abstract geometry. However, there is often a need to visualize the fiber draping in the physical geometry. New in version 5.5, default plots are created to visualize the fiber direction in each ply in the physical geometry, applicable for models that use the Layered Shell or Shell interface.

A cylinder made up of multiple layers is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the fiber draping direction is shown for each layer. Fiber draping in a composite cylinder First principal material direction showing the fiber draping direction in each layer of a composite cylinder.

Layered Material Dataset Enhancements

The Layered Material dataset, used to plot and evaluate the layered shell results, has new options for you to select layers or interfaces for evaluation. This makes postprocessing a composite laminate model easier, as only boundary selection was available previously. Also, there is a new through-thickness location option when evaluating in a Derived Values node. This functionality is demonstrated in the new Connecting Layered Shells with Solids and Shells model.

A layered shell structure and a reference solid are modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics, the surface stress is visualized, and the Layered Material settings are shown. Using the Layered Material dataset Option for selecting layers in the Layered Material dataset to plot a quantity only in selected layers.

Layered Material Slice Plot Enhancements

The Layered Material Slice plot now has support for creating multiple slices automatically. Additionally, the following new functionality has been added in this release:

  • Plotting on interfaces (previously only available on layers)
  • Plotting on multiple layers using layer midplanes or similar options
  • Defining a layout when using multiple slices
  • Adding layer names to each slice

The Layered Material Slice plot is an important plot for composite laminates and the new functionality simplifies the steps required to plot results.

A multilayered cylinder is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the stress is visualized in each layer with a slice plot. Creating a layered material slice plot Option for choosing layer midplanes and defining the layout in the Layered Material Slice plot in order to plot a quantity in several layers using a single plot node.

This functionality is demonstrated in the following models:

Through Thickness Plot Enhancements

For a composite laminate with a large number of layers, adding interface lines increases the clarity of a Through Thickness plot. In version 5.5, you can add these interface lines automatically. In addition to that, you can now plot the through thickness variation of a quantity that is defined only on a subset of the layers of a laminate.

This functionality is demonstrated in the following models:

Visualization of Loads

Applied mechanical loads are now available as default plots in all structural mechanics physics interfaces. The loads plots are solution dependent, so both arrow directions and colors are updated when a dataset is updated with a new solution. Even abstract loads, such as forces and moments applied to rigid connectors and rigid domains, are plotted at their true point of application. A new arrow type, used for plotting applied moments, has been introduced for this functionality. More than 100 models are updated with this new functionality.

Three tube models with red arrows visualizing various mechanical loads. Visualizing loads on a tube Three sets of loads plotted on a model of a tube.

New Tutorial Models and Applications

Version 5.5 brings several new tutorial models and applications.

Progressive Delamination in a Laminated Shell
Four different load values are shown for a composite laminate experiencing delamination due to compressive loading where the damaged zones are shown in red. Delamination of a composite laminate: Compressive loading A composite laminate experiencing interfacial failure (or delamination) under compressive loading. The damaged zone is shown in red for different load values. The applied load and total damage area in the laminate can be seen for comparison.

Application Library Title:
progressive_delamination_in_a_laminated_shell

Download from the Application Gallery

Mixed-Mode Delamination of a Composite Laminate
Four different opening displacements are shown for a composite laminate experiencing delamination due to mixed-mode loading where the damaged zone is shown in red. Delamination of a composite laminate: Mixed-mode loading A composite laminate experiencing interfacial failure (or delamination) under mixed-mode loading. The damaged zone is shown in red for different opening displacements. The load versus displacement curve is shown, comparing the laminate with the equivalent solid model.

Application Library Title:
mixed_mode_delamination

Download from the Application Gallery

Stress and Modal Analysis of a Composite Wheel Rim
A composite car wheel rim model with the stress distribution visualized in yellow and dark blue. Composite wheel rim Model of a composite wheel rim made up of a carbon-epoxy material with a different number of layers in the rim and spokes. The results show the stress distribution in the wheel rim for specified inflation pressure and tire load.

Application Library Title:
composite_wheel_rim

Download from the Application Gallery

Piezoelectricity in a Layered Shell
A layered shell is modeled and the axial compression and out-of-plane displacement are visualized in the piezoelectric layer. Layered shell with piezoelectric material A layered shell with a piezoelectric layer embedded in the middle. The axial compression and out-of-plane displacement are shown in the piezoelectric layer (color wireframe plot) and in metal layers (color plot).

Application Library Title:
piezoelectric_layered

Download from the Application Gallery

Connecting Layered Shells with Solids and Shells
A layered shell is connected to solid and shell elements and the stress distribution is visualized. Connected layered shell Model of a layered shell connected to solid and shell elements in cladding and transition configurations. The results show the stress distribution in the layered shell (color plot) as well as in the solid and shell members (color wireframe plot).

Application Library Title:
layered_shell_structure_connection

Download from the Application Gallery