几何更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本通过新增草图绘制工具对几何建模进行了广泛的改进。除此之外,还对常规功能进行了多项更新,包括引入新的变换操作以及在“零件库”中添加新零件。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些更新。

新的草图绘制工具

使用二维几何模型和三维工作平面时,我们可以使用一组新的平面图纸草图绘制工具。在新的草图 工具栏上,现在提供用于绘制多边形、圆弧、插值曲线、贝塞尔曲线、矩形、正方形、圆形和椭圆形的选项。这些选项是 COMSOL Multiphysics® 早期版本中提供的相应功能的全新版本。

显示 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版中打开的“草图”选项卡的裁剪的屏幕截图。 使用“草图”选项卡 新的 草图选项卡,包含用于创建平面图纸的各种工具。

使用新的多边形工具,您可以通过单击和拖动以交互方式移动点和线。编辑点坐标时,相应的点在图形 窗口中以红色圆圈突出显示。同样,您也可以使用创建插值曲线的新工具以交互方式绘制曲线。您可以在图形 窗口中拖动一个点,或者更改表格中的点坐标,实现对线的编辑。在拖动点时,绿色指示线表示与其他点对齐,多个新的草图绘制工具都包含此功能。

“插值曲线”工具的“设置”窗口显示在“图形”窗口旁边,其中显示了草图和绿色指导线。 使用交互式插值曲线工具 新的交互式插值曲线工具,带有绿色指示线,用于指示点之间的对齐方式。

用于绘制正方形、矩形、圆形和椭圆形的工具包含用于交互式编辑的新选项。辅助点和辅助线与包括圆弧在内的几何体素相关联,有助于通过单击和拖动以交互方式更改对象的参数。例如,当使用鼠标拖动实体时,您可以按 Ctrl 和/或 Shift 键来更改其他实体的移动方式。同样,也可以使用创建贝塞尔曲线的新工具以交互方式绘制和编辑曲线。捕捉功能已得到改进和扩展,包括捕捉到现有的线和圆,还可以捕捉您在现有的点、线和圆上绘制的线和圆。此外,当草图包含多个特征时,您可以双击突出显示的顶点或边以打开该特征的相应设置 窗口。

创建圆弧的三个新选项可用于多种输入组合:起点、中心和角度起点、切线和终点 以及起点、中点和终点。新的草图圆角 操作支持您从一个角开始以交互方式拖动圆角。圆角半径由鼠标释放点确定,并支持后续编辑。

如果您拥有“设计模块”的许可证,则草图 选项卡还包含使用几何约束和尺寸的按钮。有关更多信息,请参阅“设计模块”发布亮点页面

“平面几何”设置显示在“图形”窗口中的草图圆弧旁边。 绘制圆弧草图 用指定起点、切线和终点的新选项定义的圆弧。

新的旋转、移动和复制选项

现在旋转 特征提供更多方法来旋转三维几何对象:您可以选择指定轴和旋转,或者指定欧拉角。此选项也可用于通过变换 平面类型定义的工作平面 特征,以及输出位置和方向 部分的零件实例 节点。现在,移动复制 特征的位移 部分包含一个指定 列表,其中包含位移矢量位置 选项。这样就可以使用旧位置的顶点或坐标以及移动和复制的目标位置的顶点或坐标来指定移动。

新的刚性变换操作

新的刚性变换 特征支持在三维中进行平移和旋转。您可以通过匹配两个工作平面来指定变换,从而无需计算旋转轴和角度。此外,您还可以使用类似于移动旋转 特征的设置,并结合平移和旋转操作来指定变换。此特征对于定位导入的对象非常有用。

COMSOL Multiphysics UI 显示了“模型开发器”、“刚性变换”特征设置,“图形”窗口中显示一个铰链装配模型。 使用“刚性变换”特征 通过匹配两个 工作平面的位置和方向,将 刚性变换特征应用于铰链装配模型。

通过顶点和法矢指定工作平面

现在,您可以通过给出工作平面的法矢和该平面上的点或顶点来指定工作平面。与刚性变换 特征结合使用时可以为对象定向,使其中一个平面具有指定的法矢。

插值曲线的新结束条件

现在,您可以在插值曲线 特征中选择不使用任何结束条件,来代替给定的切向或零曲率。由于采用了新的基础曲线参数化方案,对于开放曲线的情况,曲线的形状会略有变化。

零件库中新增几何零件

COMSOL Multiphysics®零件库 得到了扩展,现在包含五个柏拉图立体(立方体、四面体、八面体、十二面体和二十面体),以及恒定螺距的螺旋桨和一个随机平面。

COMSOL Multiphysics“零件库”,其中显示新的“柏拉图多面体”选项,已选中二十面体。 二十面体几何零件 COMSOL Multiphysics®“零件库”中新增的二十面体零件实例。
COMSOL Multiphysics 零件库,其中显示新的“随机表面”选项:“随机平面”。 随机平面几何零件 COMSOL Multiphysics®“零件库”中新增的随机平面零件。

自动移除窄面区域

新版本对移除细节 操作功能进行了扩展,可以自动从几何结构中移除窄面区域。您只需确保选中要移除的细节 栏中的窄面区域 复选框(默认情况下处于选中状态),即可实现自动查找几何结构中的所有窄面区域并将其移除。您可以在铝挤出工艺中的流-固耦合模型中看到这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示新的“移除窄面区域”复选框、“图形”窗口中的两个网格:一个带有窄面,另一个带有移除的表面。 自动移除窄面区域 通过选中 要移除的细节栏中的 窄面区域复选框,可以查找几何结构中的窄面区域并将其移除。图中显示包含窄区域的面,该面不仅会引起额外的网格细化和降低单元质量(红色),还会导致在自动移除窄区域后产生多余的面(青色)。

Geometry Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 brings extensive improvements to geometry modeling with new sketching tools. On top of this, there are several updates to the general functionality, including new transform operations, and new parts in the Part Libraries. Read more about these updates below.

New Sketching Tools

A set of new sketching tools for planar drawings are available when working with 2D geometry models and 3D work planes. On the new Sketch toolbar there are options for drawing polygons, circular arcs, interpolation curves, Bezier curves, rectangles, squares, circles, and ellipses. These drawing options are completely new versions of the corresponding functionality available in earlier versions of COMSOL Multiphysics®.

A cropped screenshot showing the Sketch tab open in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5. Using the Sketch tab The new Sketch tab with various tools for creating planar drawings.

A new polygon tool lets you move points and lines interactively by clicking and dragging. When editing point coordinates, the corresponding point is highlighted with a red circle in the Graphics window. Similarly, a new tool for creating an interpolation curve allows you to interactively draw the curve. To edit the curve, you can either drag a point in the Graphics window or change the point coordinate in a table. While dragging a point, a green guideline indicates alignment with other points, available for several of the new sketching tools.

The Settings window for the Interpolation Curve tool is shown next to the Graphics window showing the sketch and a green guideline. Using the interactive interpolation curve tool The new interactive interpolation curve tool with a green guideline indicating alignment between points.

The tools for drawing squares, rectangles, circles, and ellipses have new options for interactive editing. Auxiliary points and lines are associated with the geometry primitives, including circular arcs, that aid in interactively changing the object's parameters by clicking and dragging. For example, when using the mouse to drag an entity, you can press Ctrl and/or Shift to change how the other entities move. In a similar way, the new tools for creating Bezier curves can be drawn and edited interactively. The snapping functionality has been improved and extended to include snapping to existing lines and circles as well as the possibility of snapping lines and circles that you draw to existing points, lines, and circles. Additionally, when you have multiple features in the sketch, you can double-click on a highlighted vertex or edge to open the corresponding Settings window for that feature.

Three new options for creating circular arcs are available for various input combinations: Start, Center, Angle, Start, Tangent, End, and Start Middle, End. A new Sketch Fillet operation lets you interactively drag a fillet starting from a corner. The fillet radius will be determined by the mouse release point and can be subsequently edited.

If you have a license for the Design Module, the Sketch tab also contains buttons for using geometric constraints and dimensions. See the Design Module release highlights page for more information.

The Plane Geometry settings are shown next to a sketched circular arc in the Graphics window. Sketching a circular arc A circular arc defined with the new option for specifying start point, tangent, and end point.

New Rotate, Move, and Copy Options

There are now more ways to rotate 3D geometry objects with the Rotate feature: you can choose to specify an axis and rotation or to specify Euler angles. This option is also available in Work Plane features defined using the Transformed plane type and in the Part Instance nodes in the Position and Orientation of Output section. The Move and Copy features now include a Specify list in the Displacement section with the options Displacement vector and Positions. This makes it possible to specify the move using a vertex or coordinates for the old position and vertices or coordinates for the location to move and copy to.

New Rigid Transform Operation

A new feature, Rigid Transform, does both translation and rotation in 3D. You can specify the transformation by matching two work planes, which eliminates the need to compute the rotation axis and angle. Alternatively, you can use settings similar to the Move and Rotate features and combine translation and rotation operations to specify the transformation. This feature can be useful for positioning imported objects.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Model Builder, Rigid Transform feature settings, and a hinge assembly model in the Graphics window. Using a Rigid Transform feature A Rigid Transform feature applied to a hinge assembly model by matching the location and orientation of two Work Planes.

Specify Work Plane by Vertex and Normal Vector

You can now specify a work plane by giving its normal vector and a point or vertex in the plane. Together with the Rigid Transform feature, this makes it possible to orient an object so that one of its planar faces gets a prescribed normal vector.

New End Condition for Interpolation Curve

In the Interpolation Curve feature, you can now choose to use no end condition instead of a given tangent direction or zero curvature. The shape of the curve changes slightly for the open curve case due to a new underlying curve parameterization scheme.

New Geometry Parts in the Part Library

The Part Library for COMSOL Multiphysics® has been extended to include the five platonic solids (cube, tetrahedron, octahedron, dodecahedron, and icosahedron), as well as a propeller with constant pitch and a random flat surface.

The COMSOL Multiphysics Part Libraries, showing the new Platonic Solids options, with the icosahedron selected. The icosahedron geometry part The new icosahedron part instance in the COMSOL Multiphysics® Part Library.
The COMSOL Multiphysics Part Libraries, showing the new Random Surfaces option: Random Flat Surface. The Random Flat Surface geometry part The new random flat surface part in the COMSOL Multiphysics® Part Library.

Automatic Removal of Narrow Face Regions

The Remove Details operation has expanded functionality to automatically remove narrow face regions from your geometry. By making sure that the Narrow face regions check box is selected (it is selected by default), located in the Details to Remove section, the operation will find and remove any narrow face region from your geometry automatically. You can see this new feature in the Fluid-Structure Interaction in Aluminum Extrusion model.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the new remove narrow face regions check box, and two meshes in the Graphics window, one with the narrow face, and one with the narrow face removed. Removing narrow face regions automatically Select the Narrow face regions check box in the Details to Remove section to find and remove them from your geometry. Shown are a face with narrow regions inducing additional mesh refinement and bad element quality (red) and the resulting face after automatic removal of the narrow regions (cyan).