粒子追踪模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本针对“粒子追踪模块”的用户,在流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口中添加了新的虚拟质量力和压力梯度力,改进了声泳力功能,并引入了更多方法来释放具有大小分布的粒子。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“粒子追踪模块”的新特征。

耦合场实现更快的粒子追踪

在 5.5 版本中,某些粒子追踪模型的运行速度与之前的版本相比将明显加快,尤其是当施加在粒子上的力基于已求解的研究中的结果时,计算时间将显著减少。典型的例子包括:使用静电 接口对电力进行建模,或使用层流 接口对流体速度场建模。当耦合到一个使用非常精细的网格计算的场时,其加速效果尤其明显。

下面是一些“案例库”示例,与之前的版本相比,它们在求解粒子轨迹时的速度有了明显的提升:

虚拟质量力和压力梯度力

当您在流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口中包含曳力 时,现在可以使用相关选项添加两个新的力贡献:虚拟质量力和压力梯度力。虚拟质量项(有时称为附加质量项)表示流体在占据运动颗粒留下的空白空间时的加速度,这使颗粒的惯性质量看起来大于其实际质量。当颗粒密度与周围流体密度相当或颗粒密度更小时,这两种力最为明显。

选中复选框的“曳力”设置,以便在模型中包含虚拟质量力和压力梯度力。 曳力设置窗口,其中通过复选框将虚拟质量力和压力梯度力包含在内。

使用这一新功能的“案例库”示例如下:

声泳力功能改进

声泳力 特征已重命名为声泳辐射力。此特征包含新的力表达式,由于其中考虑了声压场中粒子周围形成的黏性边界层和热边界层,因此更加精确。现在,您可以指定粒子是固态还是液态;然后,可以选择一个热力学损耗模型理想黏滞热黏性

粒子大小分布

在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本中,流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口添加了一个新选项,用于指定粒子大小分布 (PSD)。您可以按直径分布释放颗粒,就像以前按质量分布释放颗粒一样。此外,在根据对数正态分布进行释放时,还可以选择输入的平均值和标准差的类型。

“流体流动颗粒跟踪”接口的设置,其中显示粒子大小分布选项。 颗粒可以具有均匀大小,您也可以从分布中对质量或直径进行采样。

预览栅格释放位置

现在,当您使用从栅格释放 特征从点栅格释放粒子时,可以在图形 窗口中预览粒子的初始位置。在设置 窗口的初始坐标 栏中,单击预览初始坐标 按钮可以查看作为点栅格显示的粒子初始坐标。单击预览初始范围 按钮可以查看初始坐标的空间范围(显示为边界框)。通过这些按钮,您可以在运行研究之前检查粒子的初始位置。

此外,当您右键单击研究 节点并单击获取初始值 时,可以预览所有释放类型的粒子初始位置和速度。

COMSOL Multiphysics 模型 UI,其中的初始粒子坐标显示为点栅格。 单击 预览初始坐标按钮后的 图形窗口。
COMSOL Multiphysics 模型 UI,其中初始粒子坐标的空间范围显示为一个边界框。 单击 预览初始范围按钮后的 图形窗口。

各向同性散射壁条件

现在,您可以选择各向同性散射 作为粒子击中几何边界时的壁条件。与漫散射 条件类似,各向同性散射 条件使粒子在面法向周围以随机采样的速度方向进行反射。不过,漫散射 条件使用基于余弦定律的概率分布,而各向同性散射 条件遵循的概率分布在半球的任何微分立体角上都给出相等的通量。

图中将漫散射壁条件与各向同性散射壁条件进行比较。 漫散射(左)与各向同性散射(右)壁条件的比较图。每侧显示的分布都包含 1000 个粒子。

壁上二次粒子发射的新选项

在研究粒子-壁相互作用过程中释放的二次粒子时,您现在可以使用附加的选项来控制所释放二次粒子的初始速度。通过选择初始速度,您能够以各向同性的方式或根据余弦定律对粒子速度方向进行采样;除此之外,还可以选择初始化粒子速度,使其等于入射粒子速度,与入射粒子速度成比例或进行用户定义。

用于带电粒子追踪的内置物质

带电粒子追踪 接口中,您现在可以在指定粒子属性时从许多内置物质中进行选择。然后,软件会根据您选择的物质自动分配质量和电荷数。此外,您也可以选择用户定义,直接输入质量和电荷数的值。

“带电粒子追踪”接口中的“粒子属性”设置,其中显示内置的粒子物质选项。 带电粒子追踪接口的 粒子属性节点的屏幕截图。方程显示表明,此屏幕截图取自具有相对论粒子追踪的示例。

使用这一新功能的“案例库”示例包括:

流体流动颗粒带电

现在,您可以在流体流动颗粒跟踪 接口中添加电荷累积 特征来模拟由于周围流体中的空间电荷密度而导致的颗粒带电。软件提供多个不同的充电模型,可以覆盖整个预计的克努森数范围:Lawless经典扩散经典场经典扩散和场 以及 White

新增静电除尘器建模工具

新的电晕放电 物理场接口采用近似方法计算电荷分布,比完全自洽的等离子体模型更容易求解。“粒子追踪模块”中提供一个新的电荷累积 特征,用于计算粒子在具有非零空间电荷密度的流体中的电荷累积。这些工具可以用来有效地对静电除尘器进行建模。请注意,此功能需要“粒子追踪模块”和“等离子体模块”。您可以在静电除尘器正负电晕放电模型中看到这些新特征的应用演示。

用彩虹色表显示空间电荷密度分布的表面图。 静电除尘器中的空间电荷密度分布。

Particle Tracing Module Updates

For users of the Particle Tracing Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 brings new virtual mass and pressure gradient forces for the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface, improved acoustophoretic force functionality, and more ways to release particles with a size distribution. Learn more about these new features in the Particle Tracing Module below.

Faster Particle Tracing with Coupled Fields

Some particle tracing models will run significantly faster in version 5.5 than in previous versions. The reduction in computation time is most apparent if any forces exerted on the particles are based on a field that is solved for in a previous study. Typical examples include an electric force modeled with the Electrostatics interface or a fluid velocity field modeled with the Laminar Flow interface. The speedup is especially noticeable when coupling to a field that was computed using a very fine mesh.

Here are some Application Library examples that show a significant speedup in solving for the particle trajectories, compared to the previous version:

Virtual Mass and Pressure Gradient Forces

When you include a Drag Force in the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface, you now have the option to add two new force contributions, the virtual mass force and the pressure gradient force. The virtual mass term (sometimes called the added mass term) represents the acceleration of the fluid as it occupies the empty space that a moving particle leaves behind, which can make the particle's inertial mass seem greater than its actual mass. These two forces are most significant when the density of the particles is comparable to or less than the density of the surrounding fluid.

The Drag Force settings with the checkbox checked for including virtual mass and pressure gradient forces in the model. Drag Force settings Settings window for the Drag Force, with the virtual mass and pressure gradient forces included via a check box.

Application Library examples that use this new functionality:

Improved Acoustophoretic Force

The Acoustophoretic Force feature has been renamed Acoustophoretic Radiation Force. This feature has new force expressions that are more accurate, because they account for the viscous and thermal boundary layers that form around particles in an acoustic pressure field. You can now specify whether the particles are solid or liquid. Then you can choose a Thermodynamic loss model: Ideal, Viscous, or Thermoviscous.

Particle Size Distributions

In COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5, there is a new option to specify the particle size distribution (PSD) in the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface. You can release particles with a diameter distribution, just as you could previously release them with a mass distribution. In addition, when releasing according to a lognormal distribution, you can choose what type of mean and standard deviation you enter.

The settings for the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface with the particle size distribution options shown. Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface settings Particles can have uniform size, or you can sample the mass or diameter from a distribution.

Preview Grid Release Positions

When you release particles from a grid of points using the Release from Grid feature, you can now preview the initial particle positions in the Graphics window. In the Initial Coordinates section of the Settings window, click the Preview Initial Coordinates button to view the initial particle coordinates as a grid of points. Click the Preview Initial Extents button to view the spatial extents of the initial coordinates as a bounding box. These buttons allow you to check the initial particle positions before running a study.

In addition, when you right-click a Study node and click Get Initial Value, you can preview the initial particle positions and velocities for all release types.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing a model where the initial particle coordinates are viewed as a grid of points. Initial particle coordinates viewed as a point grid Graphics window after clicking the Preview Initial Coordinates button.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing a model where the spatial extents of the initial particle coordinates are shown as a bounding box. Initial particle coordinates' spatial extents Graphics window after clicking the Preview Initial Extents button.

Isotropic Scattering Wall Condition

You can now select Isotropic scattering as the wall condition when particles hit boundaries in the geometry. Like the Diffuse scattering condition, the Isotropic scattering condition causes particles to be reflected with randomly sampled velocity directions around the surface normal. However, whereas the Diffuse scattering condition uses a probability distribution based on the cosine law, the Isotropic scattering condition follows a probability distribution that gives equal flux across any differential solid angle in the hemisphere.

The diffuse scattering wall condition is compared to the isotropic scattering wall condition. Scattering wall condition comparison Comparison of the diffuse (left) and isotropic (right) scattering wall conditions. Each side shows a distribution of 1000 particles.

New Options for Secondary Particle Emission at Walls

When secondary particles are released during a particle–wall interaction, you now have additional options for controlling the initial speed of the released secondary particles. In addition to selecting an initial velocity, which lets you sample the particle velocity direction isotropically or according to the cosine law, you can also choose to initialize the particle speed so that it is equal to the incident particle speed, proportional to the incident particle speed, or user defined.

Built-In Species for Charged Particle Tracing

In the Charged Particle Tracing interface, you can now select from a number of built-in species when specifying particle properties. The mass and charge number are then automatically assigned based on the species you choose. Alternatively, you can select User Defined and enter values for the mass and charge number directly.

The Particle Properties settings in the Charged Particle Tracing interface with the built-in particle species options shown. Selecting particle species in the Charged Particle Tracing interface. Screenshot of the Particle Properties node for the Charged Particle Tracing interface. As the equation display indicates, this screenshot is taken from an example with relativistic particle tracing.

Application Library examples that use this new functionality:

Particle Charging for Fluid Flow

In the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow interface, you can can now add a Charge Accumulation feature that models the charging of the particles due to a space charge density in the surrounding fluid. Several different charging models are available to cover the entire range of expected Knudsen numbers: Lawless, Classical diffusion, Classical field, Classical diffusion and field, and White.

New Tools for Modeling Electrostatic Precipitators

A new physics interface, Corona Discharge, uses an approximate method to compute the charge distribution, making it easier to solve than a fully self-consistent plasma model. A new Charge Accumulation feature is available in the Particle Tracing Module that computes the accumulation of charge on particles as they travel through a fluid with nonzero space charge density. These tools can be used to efficiently model electrostatic precipitators. You can see these new features in the Electrostatic Precipitator and Positive and Negative Corona Discharges models.

A surface plot visualizing the space charge density distribution in a rainbow color table. Space charge density surface plot Space charge density distribution in an electrostatic precipitator.