CFD 模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“CFD 模块”的用户引入了新的黏弹性流动 物理场接口,新的可压缩欧拉方程 接口以及非等温大涡模型 (LES) 。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“CFD 模块”的新增功能和更新功能。

黏弹性流动

我们生活中的许多流体,包括用于制造塑料的聚合物熔体、食品工业中使用的面团,以及关节滑液等生物体液,在本质上都是大分子结构,当发生变形时,这些流体同时表现出黏性和弹性。“CFD 模块”的用户现在可以在单相流 分支下访问一个新的黏弹性流动 物理场接口,用于研究包括弹性效应在内的流动现象。预定义的本构模型包括 Oldroyd-BGiesekusFENE-P。您可以在 Oldroyd-B 黏弹性流体流动模型中看到这个新接口。

腹主动脉瘤模型,其中流线显示血液流动,并以红色显示壁的总应力。 腹主动脉瘤 腹主动脉瘤中的血液流动。结果显示壁的总应力,红色越亮表示应力越大。

可压缩欧拉方程

在许多高速流动情况下,黏性以及热传导和扩散的耗散效应都局限于沿浸水体外壁和内表面的薄边界层。忽略这些效应不仅会降低计算需求,而且在升力、波阻、过度和欠扩张喷嘴条件下往往都能得到良好的结果。新的可压缩欧拉方程 接口可以求解理想气体的等熵可压缩流的欧拉方程,适用于在高速空气动力学、超音速喷嘴和喷射器,以及真空系统中遇到的跨音速和超音速下的外部和内部流动。

一个灰色火箭模型,其中密度变化用蓝色和白色显示。 超音速火箭 超音速火箭周围的密度变化,浅色表示高密度区域。
COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中打开了“可压缩欧拉方程”接口的“设置”窗口,并在右侧显示火箭模型。 使用可压缩欧拉方程接口 可压缩欧拉方程接口的 设置窗口,其中显示方程、数值通量和限制器栏。

相传递混合物模型

大多数分散多相流应用都涉及多种尺寸的颗粒、气泡或液滴。新的相传递,混合物模型 多物理场耦合支持您在多相流仿真中包含任意数量的分散相。新版本在层流和所有 RANS 湍流模型中添加了“单相流”与“相传递”接口之间的预定义多物理场耦合。您可以在通过节流孔的油水流动 - 液滴群模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

油滴通过节流孔并分解成更小油滴的模型。 悬浮在水中的油滴 悬浮在水中的五个油滴种群的湍流流动,图中显示了流线和体积平均液滴大小(表面)。当悬浮油滴通过节流孔时,被湍流应力分解成更小的油滴。

非等温大涡模拟 (LES)

非等温流动功能已扩展为包含 LES,从而支持对湍流中的浮力效应进行详细研究,包括热羽流和对流冷却分析。新版本为当前的三个 LES 模型添加了预定义的多物理场耦合:RBVMRBVMWVSmagorinsky

热羽流从热筒中升起。该动画通过带彗尾图的粒子追踪创建。

“连续性”和“初始界面”对特征

在网格不连续的内部边界上(例如,当两个域彼此相对滑动时),您可以通过应用两个新的 特征之一使相场变量实现连续:连续性初始界面 对。除了加强相场变量的连续性以外,初始界面 对还可用于平滑在相邻域中指定不同相时可能出现的初始不连续。

通道模型,其中显示内部重力波(蓝色)和网格。 内部重力波 由体积力产生的内部重力波作用在通道的下半部分。初始界面对用于使相场变量在装配边界上连续分布,由该边界隔开的通道的下半部和上半部分别具有非匹配的四面体和六面体网格。

无弹性非牛顿本构关系

许多流体都属于非牛顿流体,即应变和应力之间的关系存在非线性。例如,我们可以在玉米淀粉、番茄酱、血液和纸浆的水溶液中观察到非牛顿行为。现在,“CFD 模块”的用户可以使用水平集相场 模型来模拟无弹性非牛顿流体的两相流。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中的“两相流,水平集”多物理场耦合“设置”窗口,其中打开了“域选择”和“流体属性”栏。 “两相流,水平集”多物理场耦合设置 两相流,水平集多物理场耦合节点的“设置”窗口,其中显示无弹性非牛顿本构关系中的“幂律”选项。

新的教学案例

5.5 版本新增并更新了多个教学案例。

非定常圆柱绕流三维模型
通道中的灰色圆柱体三维模型,其中通过流线以蓝白渐变色显示流体流动。 圆柱绕流 通道中圆柱体周围的周期性三维流动的瞬时流线和速度大小。

“案例库”标题:
cylinder_flow_3d_periodic

从“案例下载”页面下载

气流中的双金属片
周围有气流的弯曲双金属片模型。 气流中的双金属片 由于热气流的加热而弯曲的双金属片周围的速度和温度分布。

“案例库”标题:
bimetallic_strip_fsi

从“案例下载”页面下载

两相流流-固耦合
弹性薄膜模型,其周围是蓝色液体流动。 流-固耦合 本教学案例已使用弹性薄膜与具有自由表面的液体的流-固耦合进行更新。

“案例库”标题:
twophase_flow_fsi

从“案例下载”页面下载

黏性悬链线
黏性悬链线模型,其两端受到支撑,在自重作用下处于悬挂状态。 黏性悬链线 在端点处受到支撑、并在重力作用下发生变形的黏性悬链线在 2 秒后于初始位置的速度大小和形状。

“案例库”标题:
viscous_catenary

从“案例下载”页面下载

使用气泡流建立铜电解两相流模型
自搅拌电化学池的二维模型。 自搅拌电化学池 自搅拌电化学池的速度分布,其中一个电极上的气泡演化引起了对流。

“案例库”标题:
cu_electrowinning_bubbly_flow

从“案例下载”页面下载

CFD Module Updates

For users of the CFD Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes a new physics interface called Viscoelastic Flow, a new Compressible Euler Equations interface, and nonisothermal flow for large eddy simulations (LES). Learn about these and more CFD Module updates below.

Viscoelastic Flow

Many fluids of interest are macromolecular in nature, including polymeric melts used to make plastics, dough used in the food industry, and biological fluids like synovial fluids in joints. When subjected to deformation, these fluids exhibit both viscous and elastic behavior. Users of the CFD Module now have access to a new physics interface, Viscoelastic Flow, under the Single-Phase Flow branch, for studying flow phenomena including elastic effects. The predefined constitutive models include Oldroyd-B, Giesekus, and FENE-P. You can see this new interface in the Flow of Oldroyd-B Viscoelastic Fluid model.

A model of an abdominal aortic aneurysm visualizing the blood flow with streamlines and total wall stress in red. Abdominal aortic aneurysm Blood flow in an abdominal aortic aneurysm. The results show the total wall stress, where a brighter red color indicates a larger stress.

Compressible Euler Equations

In many cases of high-speed flow, the dissipative effects of viscosity, as well as thermal conduction and diffusion, are confined to thin boundary layers along exterior walls and interior surfaces of immersed bodies. Neglecting these effects reduces the computational demands while often yielding good results for lift, wave drag, and over- and under-expanded nozzle conditions. The new Compressible Euler Equations interface solves the Euler equations for isentropic, compressible flow of an ideal gas. The physics interface is applicable to exterior and interior flows at transonic and supersonic speeds as encountered in high-speed aerodynamics, supersonic nozzles and ejectors, and vacuum systems.

A gray rocket model with density variations visualized in blue and white. Rocket at supersonic speed Density variations around a rocket at supersonic speed, where the light color indicates high density.
The COMSOL Multiphysics UI with the Settings window open for the Compressible Euler Equations interface and a rocket model shown to the right. Using the Compressible Euler Equations interface The Settings window for the Compressible Euler Equations interface showing the equations, numerical flux, and limiter sections.

Phase Transport Mixture Model

Most dispersed multiphase flow applications involve multiple sizes of particles, bubbles, or droplets. The new Phase Transport, Mixture Model multiphysics coupling enables you to include an arbitrary number of dispersed phases in multiphase flow simulations. Predefined multiphysics couplings between single-phase flow and phase transport interfaces have been added for laminar flow and all RANS turbulence models. You can see this new functionality in the Oil–Water Flow Through an Orifice — A Droplet Population Model.

A model of oil droplets passing through an orifice and breaking into smaller droplets. Oil droplets suspended in water Flow streamlines and volume-averaged droplet size (surface) for turbulent flow of five populations of oil droplets suspended in water. The oil droplets are broken up into smaller droplets by the turbulent stresses as the suspension passes through an orifice.

Nonisothermal Large Eddy Simulation (LES)

The nonisothermal flow functionality has been extended to include LES, enabling detailed studies of buoyancy effects in turbulent flow, including analyses of thermal plumes and convective cooling. Predefined multiphysics couplings have been added for the three current LES models: RBVM, RBVMWV, and Smagorinsky.

Thermal plume rising from a hot cylinder. The animation was created using particle tracing with comet-tail plots.

Continuity and Initial Interface Pair Features

On interior boundaries across which the mesh is discontinuous, such as when two domains slide against each other, the phase-field variables can be made continuous by applying one of two new Pair features: the Continuity and Initial Interface pairs. The Initial Interface pair can, in addition to enforcing continuity of the phase-field variables, be used to smooth an initial discontinuity that may occur as a result of specifying different phases on adjacent domains.

A model of a channel with internal gravity waves shown in blue as well as the mesh. Internal gravity waves Internal gravity waves generated by a volume force active in the lower half of the channel. The Initial Interface pair is used to make the phase-field variables continuous across an assembly boundary with nonmatching tetrahedral and hexahedral meshes, in the lower and upper half of the channel, respectively.

Inelastic Non-Newtonian Constitutive Relations

Many fluids are non-Newtonian, that is, the relationship between strain and stress is nonlinear. Non-Newtonian behavior can, for example, be observed in aqueous solutions of corn starch, ketchup, blood, and paper pulp. Users of the CFD Module can now simulate two-phase flow of inelastic non-Newtonian fluids using either the Level Set or Phase Field models.

The Settings window in COMSOL Multiphysics for the Two-Phase Flow, Level Set multiphysics coupling with the Domain Selection and Fluid Properties sections open. The Two-Phase Flow, Level Set multiphysics coupling settings Settings window for the Two-Phase Flow, Level Set multiphysics coupling node, showing the Power Law option in the inelastic non-Newtonian constitutive relation.

New Tutorial Models

Version 5.5 brings several new and updated tutorial models.

Unsteady 3D Flow Past a Cylinder
A 3D model of a gray cylinder in a channel with the flow visualized as streamlines and a blue-white gradient. Flow around a cylinder Instantaneous streamlines and velocity magnitude for periodic 3D flow around a cylinder in a channel.

Application Library Title:
cylinder_flow_3d_periodic

Download from the Application Gallery

Bimetallic Strip in Airflow
A model of a bending bimetallic strip with airflow around it. Bimetallic strip in airflow Velocity and temperature distribution around a bimetallic strip that bends due to the heating from the warm airflow.

Application Library Title:
bimetallic_strip_fsi

Download from the Application Gallery

Two-Phase Flow with Fluid-Structure Interaction
A model of a thin elastic membrane with blue liquid flowing around it. Fluid-structure interaction This tutorial is updated with fluid-structure interaction of a thin elastic membrane and a liquid with a free surface.

Application Library Title:
twophase_flow_fsi

Download from the Application Gallery

Viscous Catenary
A model of a viscous catenary supported at either end and hanging under its own weight. Viscous catenary Velocity magnitude and shape of a viscous catenary supported at its endpoints and deforming under gravity, at its initial position and after 2 seconds.

Application Library Title:
viscous_catenary

Download from the Application Gallery

Two-Phase Flow Modeling of Copper Electrowinning Using Bubbly Flow
A 2D model of a self-stirred electrochemical cell. Self-stirred electrochemical cell Velocity profile in a self-stirred electrochemical cell. Convection is induced due to bubble evolution on one of the electrodes.

Application Library Title:
cu_electrowinning_bubbly_flow

Download from the Application Gallery