传热模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“传热模块”的用户引入了新的集总热系统 接口、为参与介质中的辐射吸收-散射性介质中的辐射 接口新增了多光谱带的设置,并对开放边界条件进行了改进。请阅读以下内容,了解这些传热特征及其他新增功能。

集总热系统接口

新的集总热系统 接口将传热建模扩展到离散热系统。此特征用于通过将模型的某些部分替换为等效电路元件来降低模型的复杂性,例如,用来表示大型装配中各零件之间的热相互作用。您可以使用多种类型的电路元件,以及高级设备和用户定义的子系统。

该接口提供以下等效电路元件:

  • 双节点
    • 传导热阻
    • 热容器
    • 热耗率源
    • 对流热阻
    • 辐射热阻
    • 热电模块
    • 热管
  • 单节点
    • 温度
    • 热耗率
    • 辐射热耗率
    • 热质量
    • 外部终端

外部终端特征将集总热系统连接到任意维度的有限元模型。

COMSOL Multiphysics 热电模块的集总模型与 FEM 模型结果比较。 使用“集总热系统”接口 将热电模块的热网络(集总系统)表征与 FEM 模型进行比较。

以下模型演示了这一特征:

RPM 和 RASM 的多光谱带

参与介质中的辐射吸收-散射性介质中的辐射 接口现在支持任意数量的光谱带,用于在使用多光谱带时对波长相关的材料属性进行建模,同时提高可用性。您可以根据波长相关函数或表格定义材料属性,如吸收系数、散射系数或表面辐射率,每个光谱带一个值。具有与波长相关的材料属性,可以更精确地表示材料,特别是当它们暴露于从红外(由材料发出)到可见光(来自外部源,如激光或太阳)的宽波长范围的辐射时。新的具有波长相关辐射属性的玻璃板的辐射冷却模型演示了这一功能。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中模拟的玻璃板,图中显示了入射辐射的可视化效果,还显示了参与介质的设置。 多光谱带示例 使用四光谱带模型定义吸收系数和由此产生的入射辐射。

改进的开放边界特征

开放边界 特征现在包含一个选项,支持您在两种流入条件之间进行选择:通量(新的默认设置)或温度(之前版本中的选项)。流出的现有选项保持不变。新的“通量”选项对应于 Danckwerts 条件,应用来自具有已知上游条件的虚拟域的热量流入,该通量与边界和上游之间的温差成正比,并与流率成正比。对于大流率,它倾向于指定边界处的上游温度,而对于小流率,边界温度受相邻区域的源和汇的影响。与通常无法在边界处指定的温度条件相比,这种改进有利于得出更精确、更真实的物理模型。此外,通量条件还会产生更平滑的数值公式,从而得到更稳健的模型,实现更快地求解。

使用了“传热模块”中的“开放边界”特征,并为两种不同的公式绘制了所得的温度场和收敛情况。 使用“开放边界”特征 温度场与求解器收敛速度的比较图,顶部为温度公式,底部为通量公式。在本例中,通量公式使右侧垂直壁附近的温度曲线更加逼真,并且求解速度提高了 20% 以上。

以下模型演示了这一特征:

环境辐射的波长相关辐射率

表面对表面辐射 接口现在包含一个现成的选项,用于指定环境辐射率。当结合表面对表面辐射 接口的多光谱带功能来模拟辐射冷却时,这一选项非常重要。辐射冷却是由于晴空条件下 8-12 µm 波长范围内的大气的高透射率而发生的,这可以通过使用大气辐射率 εamb = 1-τamb 来建模。对于既反射又发射辐射的表面,其范围在 8-12 µm 之间,可以获得最佳的冷却性能。辐射冷却模型演示了这一特征。

不同波长(最大为 20 微米)的大气透射率图。 大气透射率
不同波长(最大为 26 微米)的大气辐射图。 大气辐射
模型研究了大气透射率(左)和来自大气的辐射(右)。

水分输送的开放边界和流入条件

新版本为水分输送 接口的用户引入了开放边界流入 条件,这些条件与传热接口中的类似。通过流入 特征,您可以指定上游水分条件,以定义通过在入口上游添加虚拟域而得到的水分流入量。Danckwerts 条件用于估计边界上的通量。开放边界 特征与输入流的流入 特征具有相同的特性,并可自动切换为输出流的流出条件。与传热的开放边界特征相似,它也为流入条件提供温度选项。当水分输送与采用相应边界条件的流动进行耦合时,适合使用这些边界条件。

以下模型演示了这些特征:

水分输送接口的总体改进

空气中的水分输送 接口添加了一个新的浓物质 公式,用于模拟蒸汽含量较高时,蒸汽在空气中的对流和扩散。当高温下的相对湿度适中或较高时,通常会出现这种情况。在这些条件下,由于蒸汽浓度梯度的影响,湿空气密度在空间和时间上可能会发生明显的变化,此时应使用新的浓物质 公式代替默认公式。您可以在电子设备中的冷凝检测(含传递和扩散)水的蒸发冷却模型中看到相关演示。

除此之外,物理场接口也得到了改进,现在支持相对湿度大于 1 的过饱和条件。当饱和水蒸汽的热流迅速冷却时,会发生这种情况。最后,各种水分输送、热湿和水分流动接口的默认求解器设置均已更新,现在能够以更快的速度提供更稳定的计算性能。

采用射线发射辐射法的表面对表面辐射

现在,您可以在采用射线发射辐射方法时使用表面对表面辐射的对称性外部辐射源 特征。对称条件可用于定义多达三个对称平面或定义扇区对称,以减少角系数计算的计算量。您可以在如何提高表面对表面辐射建模的角系数计算性能模型中看到这些特征的应用演示。外部辐射源 特征可用于定义来自模型几何结构中未表示的对象(如太阳)的辐射。对于瞬态分析,外部辐射源的位置或方向可能会在仿真过程中发生变化。此外,还提供新的选项来控制瞬态仿真中的角系数更新,从而可以在精度(频繁的角系数更新)和计算时间(最小的角系数更新)之间达到良好的平衡。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中,通过“表面对表面辐射的对称性”特征利用几何结构中的对称性对球体进行建模。 使用“表面对表面辐射的对称性”特征 使用射线发射辐射法的模型中的 表面对表面辐射的对称性设置。

介质辐射接口中的辐射源特征

参与介质中的辐射吸收和散射介质中的辐射 接口中现在新增了辐射源 特征,可用于定义不由介质吸收率或散射属性描述的辐射源(例如荧光)。辐射源可以是各向同性,在使用离散坐标法时,也可以是定向的。

改进的多层材料特征

对于用于多层壳的传热接口,在具有大量边界的模型中,计算速度有所提高。此外,用户界面已经过优化,简化了单层材料的模型设置。您现在可以通过引用“模型开发器”的材料 节点中的材料来定义单层材料。此外,还可以缩放单层材料的层厚度。您可以将比例定义成任意表达式,特别是源于其他物理量。例如,您可以定义由薄膜流 接口计算的薄膜厚度。

用 COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本中的“多层材料”特征模拟的电器机箱。 改进的多层材料特征 您可以使用经典材料属性来定义单层材料。在这种情况下,经典材料中需要根据用户输入来定义层厚度比例。

以下模型演示了这些改进功能:

非等温流动多物理场耦合

非等温流动 多物理场耦合可用于 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中的层流,现在具有自动设置,以提供更多物理结果,而无需用户操作。值得一提的是,压力功对能量方程的贡献是由流动可压缩性设置自动确定的。此外,黏性耗散现在默认为激活状态,从而确保多物理场耦合节点的默认设置实现能量守恒。该功能以前仅在某些附加模块中可用,现在您也可以在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 核心模块中使用此功能。

薄结构传热的多物理场耦合

热膨胀的影响在固体以及像壳和膜这样的薄结构中很重要。新版本添加了多物理场耦合,以便将薄结构传热分析中计算出的温度自动传递到相应的结构力学接口。

为此,新版本中新增了三个多物理场接口:

  • 热应力,壳,结合壳传热 接口
  • 热应力,多层壳,结合壳传热多层壳 接口
  • 热应力,膜,结合壳传热 接口

您还可以从固体传热 接口中的薄层 特征连接到结构力学接口。

更新的加热电路模型演示了这一功能。

并排显示的两个加热电路模型,其中显示了温度分布和应力。 加热电路的多物理场模型 加热电路中的温度分布(左)和应力(右)。薄导电层使用 接口建模,基板使用 固体力学接口建模。两个接口都通过多物理场耦合接收传热分析所得的温度。

新的教学案例和 App

5.5 版本新增了多个教学案例和 App。

Heat Transfer Module Updates

For users of the Heat Transfer Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes a new Lumped Thermal System interface, multiple spectral bands for the Radiation in Participating Media and Radiation in Absorbing-Scattering Media interfaces, and open boundary condition improvements. Read about these heat transfer features and more below.

Lumped Thermal System Interface

The new Lumped Thermal System interface extends heat transfer modeling to discrete thermal systems. This is used for reducing a model's complexity by replacing portions of it with equivalent circuit elements, such as to represent the thermal interaction between parts in large assemblies, for example. Several types of circuit elements are available, as well as advanced devices and user-defined subsystems.

The following equivalent circuit elements are available:

  • Two-node
    • Conductive Thermal Resistor
    • Thermal Capacitor
    • Heat Rate Source
    • Convective Thermal Resistor
    • Radiative Thermal Resistor
    • Thermoelectric Module
    • Heat Pipe
  • One-node
    • Temperature
    • Heat Rate
    • Radiative Heat Rate
    • Thermal Mass
    • External Terminal

The external terminal feature connects a lumped thermal system to a finite element model in any dimension.

COMSOL Multiphysics results for a thermoelectric module comparing a lumped model to the FEM model. Using the Lumped Thermal System interface Comparing a thermal network (lumped system) representation of a thermoelectric module to the FEM model.

This feature is demonstrated in the following models:

Multiple Spectral Bands for RPM and RASM

The Radiation in Participating Media and Radiation in Absorbing-Scattering Media interfaces now support an arbitrary number of spectral bands for modeling wavelength-dependent material properties alongside general improved usability when using multiple spectral bands. You can define material properties such as the absorption coefficient, scattering coefficient, or surface emissivity from a wavelength-dependent function or from a table, with one value per spectral band. Having wavelength-dependent material properties provides a more accurate representation of the materials, in particular when they are exposed to radiation from a wide wavelength ranging from infrared (emitted by the material) to visible light (from an external source like a laser or the Sun). This functionality is demonstrated in the new Radiative Cooling of a Glass Plate with Wavelength-Dependent Radiative Properties model.

A glass plate modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics with incident radiation visualized and the participating medium settings shown. Multiple spectral bands example Definition of the absorption coefficient using a four-spectral-bands model and the resulting incident radiation.

Improved Open Boundary Feature

The Open Boundary feature now has an option to choose between two conditions for inflow: Flux (new default) or Temperature (previous implementation). The implementation is unchanged for outflow. The new Flux option corresponds to a Danckwerts condition that applies an inflow of heat coming from a virtual domain with known upstream conditions. This flux is proportional to the temperature difference between the boundary and the upstream, and it is also proportional to the flow rate. It tends to prescribe the upstream temperature at the boundary for a large flow rate, while the boundary temperature is influenced by the sources and sinks of the adjacent regions for small flow rates. This improvement leads to more accurate and realistic physical models compared to a temperature condition that is usually not possible to prescribe at the boundary. In addition, the flux condition induces a smoother numerical formulation, which results in a more robust model that can be faster to solve.

The Open Boundary feature in the Heat Transfer Module is used and the resulting temperature field and convergence are plotted for two different formulations. Using the Open Boundary feature Comparison of the temperature field and of the solver convergence rate with the temperature formulation on the top and the flux formulation on the bottom. In this example, the flux formulation leads to a more realistic temperature profile close to the vertical wall on the right and is more than 20% faster to solve.

This feature is demonstrated in the following models:

Wavelength-Dependent Emissivity for Ambient Radiation

The Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface now includes a ready-made option for specifying ambient emissivity. This is important when combined with the multiple spectral band capabilities of the Surface-to-Surface Radiation interface for modeling radiative cooling. Radiative cooling occurs due to the high transitivity, in clear-sky condition, of the atmosphere in the 8–12 µm wavelength range that can by modeled using an atmosphere emissivity εamb = 1-τamb. The best cooling performances are obtained with surfaces that both reflect and emit radiation in the range of 8–12 µm. This feature is demonstrated in the Radiative Cooling model.

A plot of atmospheric transmissivity for different wavelengths, up to 20 micrometers. Atmospheric transmissivity
A plot of atmospheric irradiation for different wavelengths, up to 26 micrometers. Atmospheric irradiation
Model for atmosphere transmissivity (left) and for irradiation coming from the atmosphere (right).

Open Boundary and Inflow Conditions for Moisture Transport

For users of the Moisture Transport interfaces, the Open Boundary and Inflow conditions have been introduced similarly to what is available in the heat transfer interfaces. The Inflow feature enables you to specify upstream moisture conditions to define the moisture inflow that would be obtained from adding a virtual domain upstream of the inlet. A Danckwerts condition is used to estimate the flux across the boundary. The Open Boundary feature behaves identically to the Inflow feature for an incoming flow, and automatically switches to an outflow condition for an outgoing flow. Similarly to the open boundary feature for heat transfer, it also provides a temperature option for the inflow condition. These boundary conditions are expected to be used when the moisture transport is coupled with a flow that has corresponding boundary conditions.

These features are demonstrated in the following models:

General Moisture Transport Interface Improvements

A new Concentrated species formulation is available in the Moisture Transport in Air interface to model convection and diffusion of vapor in air when the vapor content is high. This is often the case when there is moderate or high relative humidity at a high temperature. Under these conditions, the moist air density may vary significantly in space and time due to vapor concentration gradients, and the default formulation should be replaced by the new Concentrated species formulation. You can see this demonstrated in the Condensation Detection in an Electronic Device with Transport and Diffusion and Evaporative Cooling of Water models.

The physics interface has also been improved to support supersaturation conditions that correspond to a relative humidity greater than one. This occurs when a hot stream saturated with water vapor is rapidly cooled down. Finally, the default solver settings for the various moisture transport, heat and moisture, and moisture flow interfaces have been set in a way that results in more robust and faster computation.

Surface-to-Surface Radiation with Ray Shooting Radiation Method

The Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation and External Radiation Source features are now available when the ray shooting radiation method is used. The symmetry condition can be used to define up to three symmetry planes or to define sector symmetry in order to reduce the computational effort for the view factor computation. You can see these features demonstrated in the How to Improve the Performance of View Factor Computation for Surface-to-Surface Radiation Modeling model. The External Radiation Source feature can be used to define radiation coming from an object that is not represented in the model geometry, like the Sun. For time-dependent analyses, the external radiation source position or direction may vary during the simulation. Additionally, new options are available to control the view factor update for time-dependent simulations, making it possible to define a good balance between accuracy (frequent view factor update) and computational time (minimal view factor update).

A sphere is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics taking advantage of symmetry in the geometry via the Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation feature. Using the Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation feature The Symmetry for Surface-to-Surface Radiation settings in a model using the ray shooting radiation method.

Radiative Source Feature for Radiation in Media Interfaces

The Radiative Source feature is now available in the Radiation in Participating Media and Radiation in Absorbing and Scattering Media interfaces. It can be used to define a radiation source, like fluorescence, which is not described by the media absorptivity or scattering properties. The radiative source can be isotropic or, when the discrete ordinate method is used, directional.

Improved Layered Material Features

For the heat transfer interfaces used for layered shells, computations are faster in models with a very large number of boundaries. In addition, the user interface has been optimized to simplify the model setup for single-layer materials, which can now be defined by referencing a material in the Material node in the Model Builder. Additionally, you can scale the layer thickness for a single-layer material. The scale can be defined as an arbitrary expression, in particular stemming from other physics quantities. For example, you can define a film thickness computed by a Thin Film Flow interface.

An electronic enclosure modeled using layered material features in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5. Using layered material features Single-layer materials can be defined using a classic material. In this case, the classical material defines the layer thickness scale from the corresponding user input.

You can see these improvements demonstrated in the following models:

Nonisothermal Flow Multiphysics Coupling

The Nonisothermal Flow multiphysics coupling, available for laminar flow in COMSOL Multiphysics®, now has automatic settings in order to provide more physical results without the need of user action. In particular, the pressure work contribution to the energy equation is automatically determined from the flow compressibility settings. Also, the viscous dissipation is now activated by default, ensuring energy conservation with the default settings of the multiphysics coupling node. This functionality has previously only been available with certain add-on modules, but is now available in the core COMSOL Multiphysics® software.

Multiphysics Coupling for Heat Transfer in Thin Structures

Effects of thermal expansion can be important in solids as well as thin structures like shells and membranes. Multiphysics couplings have been added so that temperatures computed in a heat transfer analysis of a thin structure can be automatically transferred to corresponding structural mechanics interfaces.

To this end, three new multiphysics interfaces have been added:

  • Thermal Stress, Shell, combining the Heat Transfer in Shells and Shell interfaces
  • Thermal Stress, Layered Shell, combining the Heat Transfer in Shells and Layered Shell interfaces
  • Thermal Stress, Membrane, combining the Heat Transfer in Shells and Membrane interfaces

You can also connect to the structural mechanics interfaces from the Thin Layer feature within the Heat Transfer in Solids interface.

View this functionality in the updated Heating Circuit model.

Two side-by-side heating circuit models visualizing the temperature distribution and stress. Multiphysics model of a heating circuit Temperature distribution (left) and stress (right) in a heating circuit. The thin conducting layer is modeled using a Membrane interface and the substrate is modeled using the Solid Mechanics interface. Both interfaces receive the temperature from the heat transfer analysis through multiphysics couplings.

New Tutorial Models and Applications

Version 5.5 brings several new tutorial models and applications.