优化模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“优化模块”的用户添加了新的内置特征,可进一步简化形状优化设置,并新增了用于对拓扑优化结果进行平滑处理的过滤器数据集,以及用于无导数优化的严格设计约束。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解优化特征的新增功能。

形状优化

您现在可以更轻松地设置形状优化问题。从 5.5 版本开始,您可以使用新的自由形状域 特征选择要进行形状优化的几何部分;可以使用多项式边界自由形状边界 特征指定要优化的边界,这些特征内置了对正则化的支持。不仅如此,您现在还可以使用新的自由形状壳 特征对壳执行形状优化。对称/辊支承 特征可用于指定在平面边界上滑动的点或边。各个特征彼此之间可以进行交互,以确保连续性,并且默认绘图使结果可视化变得更加容易。

以下模型使用了此特征:

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的扳手,其中显示“自由形状域”设置。 使用“自由形状域”特征 新的 自由形状域形状优化特征的“设置”窗口位于组件定义节点下。

拓扑优化

三维拓扑优化的默认绘图现在使用新的过滤器 数据集,您可以据此直接创建网格零件。通过这种方式,可以将优化的几何图形导入新的组件中,并保留与拓扑优化几何相关的所有选择,从而减少设置拓扑优化结果的验证仿真所需的工作量。新的指定密度 特征与密度模型 特征进行交互,改善了边界附近的正则化过滤器特性。当您基于过滤的场创建网格零件时,这可以增强稳定性。

以下模型使用了这些特征:

从指向 COMSOL Multiphysics 中的“过滤器”数据集的网格零件导入的拓扑优化钢钩设计的几何形状。 基于“过滤器”数据集创建网格零件 当您从指向 过滤器数据集的网格零件导入几何图形时,可以重复使用旧组件中的选择。

参数估计

使用 Levenberg–Marquardt 方法求解参数估计研究时,您可以根据用户定义的置信水平来计算参数的置信区间。在计算区间时,假设测量值是独立的,并且误差呈正态分布。然后,您可以将置信区间与合成数据生成结合起来,以估计所需的样本量,使参数达到一定的精度。

COMSOL Multiphysics UI,显示了模型的置信区间和“优化”研究步骤设置。 参数估计的置信区间 您可以在 优化研究步骤中启用计算参数估计的置信区间。

参数优化

无导数优化求解器现在包含一个严格执行设计约束的选项,可以提高鲁棒性并缩短计算时间。软件不会使用违反约束的控制参数集来计算模型,这些约束仅依赖于控制参数。默认情况下,COBYLA 和 Nelder–Mead 启用了该选项。您可以在 multistudy_bracket_optimization 模型中看到这一新特征的应用演示。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中的支架模型,其中“优化”设置显示了用于防止拓扑变化的设计约束。 参数优化示例 通过定义可防止拓扑变化的设计约束,常常可以使参数优化更加可靠。严格执行设计约束可以改善此类模型的特性。

新的教学案例和 App

5.5 版本新增并更新了多个教学案例和 App。

壳的形状优化

壳的优化设计和初始设计中的 von Mises 应力可视化效果。 优化和初始壳设计 优化(左)和初始(右)壳设计的 von Mises 应力图。

“案例库”标题:
shell_shape_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

扳手的形状优化

扳手模型,其中优化设计显示为红色,原始几何图形显示为灰色。 扳手 优化后的扳手体以红色显示,原始几何图形以灰色显示。

“案例库”标题:
wrench_shape_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

Tesla 微阀的形状优化

经过形状优化的 Tesla 微阀模型,一半用彩色显示,一半为灰色网格。 Tesla 微阀 图中绘制了 Tesla 微阀中变形构型(绿线)中生成的网格和反向流速。

“案例库”标题:
tesla_microvalve_shape_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

MBB 梁的形状优化
MBB 梁的形状,优化的形状显示为红色和黑色,初始设计显示为灰色。 MBB 梁 优化的形状绘制成黑色/红色,初始设计(从拓扑优化)显示为灰色。

“案例库”标题:
mbb_beam_shape_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

挤压 MBB 梁的优化

形状优化的 MBB 梁设计(以红色显示)和拓扑优化(以灰色显示)。 挤压 MBB 梁 拓扑优化结果显示为灰色体,最终的形状优化设计以红色显示。

“案例库”标题:
mbb_beam_extruded_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

优化教学案例
在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中使用二次函数的优化模型。 使用二次函数的优化模型 通过使用取整函数将连续控制转换为离散控制,可以执行离散优化。但是,这样会产生一个局部平坦的函数,使这个问题不适合使用基于梯度的优化器。

“案例库”标题:
optimization_tutorials
从“案例下载”页面下载

最大限度地增加斜撑的屈曲载荷
斜撑设计的两个版本,其中经过优化的设计将屈曲载荷最大化。 初始和优化的斜撑设计 图中绘制了初始(下)和优化(上)设计在临界载荷因子取最小绝对值时壳的位移情况。

“案例库”标题:
diagonal_brace_buckling_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

梁的参数、形状和拓扑优化
通过三种方式优化梁的设计,以最大程度减少梁的自重。 梁的优化 使用参数(上)、形状(中)和拓扑(下)优化使梁的自重最小化。梁受到分布载荷和位移约束。

“案例库”标题:
beam_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

阻抗管参数估计和数据生成
一维绘图,显示了阻抗管中两个传感器的压力随频率的变化情况。 阻抗管的参数估计 图中绘制了测量和拟合的实际压力随两个传感器频率的变化情况。

“案例库”标题:
impedance_tube_parameter_estimation_data
从“案例下载”页面下载

声信号分离器的形状优化
声信号分离器模型,其中将声压级分布和强度进行可视化。 声信号分离器 图中绘制了两个频带中心的声压级分布和强度流线。

“案例库”标题:
demultiplexer_shape_optimization
从“案例下载”页面下载

支架 - 拓扑优化

一个灰色支架设计和一个拓扑优化支架设计,后者使用的材料显著减少。 两个支架设计 原始设计空间和优化结构,后者显示由八种载荷工况之一引起的变形。

“案例库”标题:
bracket_topology_optimization_stl
从“案例下载”页面下载

Optimization Module Updates

For users of the Optimization Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes a more simplified setup of shape optimization with new built-in features, a filter dataset for smoothing topology optimization results, and strict enforcement of design constraints for derivative-free optimization. Read more about these and other optimization features below.

Shape Optimization

Setting up shape optimization problems is now easier. As of version 5.5, you can select parts of a geometry for shape optimization using the new Free Shape Domain feature. Boundaries to be optimized are specified using Polynomial Boundary or Free Shape Boundary features, which have built-in support for regularization. You can now also perform shape optimization on shells using the new Free Shape Shell feature. The Symmetry/Roller feature specifies points or edges that can slide on a flat boundary. All of the features interact with each other to ensure continuity, and the default plot makes it easy to visualize the result.

Models that use this feature:

A wrench is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the Free Shape Domain settings are shown. Using the Free Shape Domain feature The new Free Shape Domain shape optimization feature Settings window available under component definitions.

Topology Optimization

The default plot for 3D topology optimization now uses the new Filter dataset, from which you can directly create a mesh part. That way, the optimized geometry can be imported into a new component retaining all selections associated with the topology optimization geometry. This reduces the work needed to set up a verification simulation of a topology optimization result. A new Prescribed Density feature interacts with the Density Model feature, improving the regularization filter behavior near boundaries. This can improve the robustness when creating a mesh part based on the filtered field.

Models that use these features:

The geometry of a topology optimized hook design imported from a mesh part pointing to a Filter dataset in COMSOL Multiphysics. Creating a mesh part from the Filter dataset The selections from the old component can be recycled when the geometry is imported from a mesh part pointing to a Filter dataset.

Parameter Estimation

When solving a parameter estimation study with the Levenberg–Marquardt method, you can compute the confidence intervals for the parameters based on a user-defined confidence level. The computation of the intervals assume that the measurements are independent and that the error is normally distributed. You could then combine the confidence intervals with synthetic data generation to estimate the required sample size to achieve a certain accuracy for the parameters.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing confidence intervals for a model and the Optimization study step settings. Confidence intervals in parameter estimation The computation of confidence intervals in parameter estimation can be enabled in the Optimization study step.

Parameter Optimization

The derivative-free optimization solvers now have an option for strict enforcement of design constraints, improving robustness and reducing computational time. The model will not be evaluated for control parameter sets that violate constraints depending only on the control parameters. The option is enabled by default for COBYLA and Nelder–Mead. You can see this new feature demonstrated in the multistudy_bracket_optimization model.

A bracket model in COMSOL Multiphysics with the Optimization settings showing design constraints for preventing topological changes. Parameter optimization example Parameter optimization can often be made more robust by defining design constraints that prevent topological changes. Strict enforcement of design constraints can improve the behavior of such models.

New Tutorial Models and Applications

Version 5.5 brings several new and updated tutorial models and applications.

Shape Optimization of a Shell

Visualization of von Mises stress in the optimized and initial designs of a shell. Optimized and initial shell designs The von Mises stress is plotted for the optimized (left) and initial (right) shell design.

Application Library Title:
shell_shape_optimization
Download from the Application Gallery

Shape Optimization of a Wrench

A wrench model showing an optimized design in red and the original geometry in gray. Wrench The volume of the optimized wrench is shown in red together with the original geometry in gray.

Application Library Title:
wrench_shape_optimization
Download from the Application Gallery

Shape Optimization of a Tesla Microvalve

A model of a shape optimized Tesla microvalve, half in color, half as a gray mesh. Tesla microvalve The mesh generated in the deformed configuration (green lines) is plotted together with the backwards flow velocity in a Tesla microvalve.

Application Library Title:
tesla_microvalve_shape_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Shape Optimization of an MBB Beam
The shape of an MBB beam where the optimized shape is red and black and the initial design is shown in gray. MBB beam The optimized shape is plotted in black/red, while the initial design (from topology optimization) is shown in gray.

Application Library Title:
mbb_beam_shape_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Optimization of an Extruded MBB Beam

A shape-optimized MBB beam design shown in red with the topology optimization shown in gray. Extruded MBB beam The result of the topology optimization is shown as a gray volume together with the final shape-optimized design in red.

Application Library Title:
mbb_beam_extruded_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Optimization Tutorials
An optimization model using the quadratic function in COMSOL Multiphysics. An optimization model using a quadratic function It is possible to perform discrete optimization by converting a continuous control to a discrete one using the round function. However, this gives rise to a function that is locally flat, which makes the problem ill suited to gradient-based optimizers.

Application Library Title:
optimization_tutorials

Download from the Application Gallery

Maximizing the Buckling Load of a Diagonal Brace
Two versions of a diagonal brace design, where the optimized design maximizes the buckling load. Initial and optimized diagonal brace designs The shell displacement is plotted for the critical load factor with the lowest absolute value for the initial (bottom) and optimized (top) design.

Application Library Title:
diagonal_brace_buckling_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Parameter, Shape, and Topology Optimization of a Beam
A beam design is optimized three ways for minimized weight. Optimization of a beam The weight of the beam is minimized using parameter (top), shape (middle), and topology (bottom) optimization. The beam is subject to a distributed load and a displacement constraint.

Application Library Title:
beam_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Impedance Tube Parameter Estimation with Data Generation
A 1D plot showing pressure as a function of frequency for two sensors in an impedance tube. Parameter estimation of an impedance tube The measured and fitted real pressure is plotted as a function of the frequency for two sensors.

Application Library Title:
impedance_tube_parameter_estimation_data

Download from the Application Gallery

Shape Optimization of an Acoustic Demultiplexer
An acoustic demultiplexer model visualizing the sound pressure level distribution and intensity. Acoustic demultiplexer Sound pressure level distribution and intensity streamlines plotted at the center of both frequency bands.

Application Library Title:
demultiplexer_shape_optimization

Download from the Application Gallery

Bracket — Topology Optimization

One gray bracket design and one topology optimized bracket design that uses much less material. Two bracket designs Original design space and optimized structure with deformation from one of eight load cases.

Application Library Title:
bracket_topology_optimization_stl
Download from the Application Gallery