多孔介质流模块

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本添加了新的“多孔介质流模块”。借助这个附加模块,您可以对多孔介质中的质量、动量和能量传递进行建模。

多孔介质流模块概述

许多自然和人工系统中都存在多孔介质,因此,对高级多孔介质建模的需求已成为许多行业发展的关键,例如燃料电池、纸浆和纸张干燥、食品生产、过滤过程,等等。“多孔介质流模块”将 COMSOL Multiphysics® 建模环境扩展到定量研究多孔介质中的质量、动量和能量传递,应用领域涵盖从基于达西定律的传统多孔介质流动,到非达西流动和多物理场流动分析,包括传热效应、化工等。

正常工作的滤水器和破裂滤水器中的氯浓度显示了污染结果。 功能齐全但破裂的滤水器 陶瓷滤水器滤棒中的污染物浓度(左:未损坏的滤水器,右:损坏的滤水器)。

多孔介质流模块功能

流动模型

“多孔介质流模块”包含基于达西定律、Brinkman 方程以及自由和多孔介质流动组合的多孔介质单相流建模功能。多孔介质中的裂隙可以控制流动,裂隙流专用接口支持与任何多孔介质流动模型结合使用。软件提供稳态和瞬态两种分析类型。

多相流

多相流功能包括多个不混溶相通过多孔介质的传输,并求解平均相体积分数。对于可变饱和的多孔介质,用户可以使用基于理查兹方程的非线性流动选项来分析各种介质,其中,随着流体流过多孔介质时会填充一些孔隙并从其余孔隙排出,水力属性会有所变化。

多物理场

多物理场功能支持与传热、化工和结构分析相结合。与传热结合使用时,软件提供相关选项用于计算多孔介质中的非等温流动和有效热属性。多孔介质传热可以与消费电子产品、包装材料和建筑物理等应用中的水分输送结合使用。

不仅如此,该模块还可处理化学物质在自由流动、饱和及部分饱和多孔介质中的传输,可用于研究气体或液体流过多孔介质空隙时的流动和化学成分。除了多孔介质区域外,流动系统还可以包含自由流动区域。

为了分析多孔材料中的弹性效应,新版本添加了一个专门的多孔弹性多物理场接口,可以将达西定律的瞬态公式与固体力学的准静态公式相结合。达西定律 接口中的孔隙压力充当结构分析的载荷,从而引起膨胀或收缩。体积应变的变化会影响孔隙空间,后者充当达西定律流动模型的质量源或汇。

用于热能储存的填充床罐中的液相浓度。 填充床潜热储罐模型 热能储存 (TES) 装置用于收集来自太阳能、地热或废热源的热能。本例模拟为 TES 装置充电时,相变传热和局部热非平衡的影响。

水分输送接口的总体改进

空气中的水分输送 接口添加了一个新的浓物质 公式,用于模拟蒸汽含量较高时,蒸汽在空气中的对流和扩散。当高温下的相对湿度适中或较高时,通常会出现这种情况。在这些条件下,由于蒸汽浓度梯度的影响,湿空气密度在空间和时间上可能会发生明显的变化,此时应使用新的浓物质 公式代替默认公式。

除此之外,物理场接口也得到了改进,现在支持相对湿度大于 1 的过饱和条件。当充满饱和水蒸气的热流迅速冷却时,就会发生这种情况。最后,各种水分输送、热湿和水分流动接口的默认求解器设置均已更新,现在能够以更快的速度提供更稳定的计算性能。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本中“空气中的水分输送”接口的设置,显示了新的浓物质混合物类型。 “空气中的水分输送”接口设置 您现在可以在 水分输送接口中选择 浓物质作为湿空气混合物类型。

新的教学案例

“多孔介质流模块”包含多个教学案例。

填充床潜热存储
填充床潜热储罐中的液相浓度。 填充床潜热储罐中的热能储存 热能储存 (TES) 装置用于收集来自太阳能、地热或废热源的热能。本例模拟为 TES 装置充电时,相变传热和局部热非平衡的影响。

“案例库”标题:
packed_bed_latent_heat_storage

从“案例下载”页面下载

多孔微通道散热器的性能
用于确定微通道散热器中多孔基板最佳厚度的参数化研究结果。 多孔微通道散热器的品质因数 微通道散热器通过包含多孔基板(棕色)来提高传热系数。品质因数图显示了最佳构型。

“案例库”标题:
performance_of_a_porous_microchannel_heat_sink

从“案例下载”页面下载

冻土夹杂物
冰块上的流体流动,等值面表明部分冰块已融化成水。 冻结块升温后液态水饱和 周围多孔介质中的热传导和对流使初始冻结块逐渐降解,九个小时后,液态水饱和。等值面显示温度,其余的冰显示为白色。流线表示流体速度场。

“案例库”标题:
frozen_inclusion

从“案例下载”页面下载

纸条芯吸现象
受到毛细力作用的纸条中的液相浓度。 纸条芯吸现象 干燥的多孔材料与流体接触时,会发生芯吸现象;由于存在毛细力,多孔材料会吸收流体。吸收过程会一直持续到重力与毛细力平衡为止。

“案例库”标题:
wicking_in_a_paper_strip

从“案例下载”页面下载

Porous Media Flow Module

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 introduces the new Porous Media Flow Module. This add-on module allows you to model mass, momentum, and energy transport in porous media.

Porous Media Flow Module Overview

Porous media exist in many natural and man-made systems, and the need for advanced porous media modeling spans many industries. Examples include processes in fuel cells, drying of pulp and paper, food production, filtration processes, and so on. The Porous Media Flow Module extends the COMSOL Multiphysics® modeling environment to the quantitative investigation of mass, momentum, and energy transport in porous media. Its application areas range from conventional porous media flow, based on Darcy's law, to non-Darcian flow and multiphysics flow analysis, including the effects of heat transfer, chemical engineering, and more.

The chlorine concentration in a working water filter and a fractured water filter showing contaminated results. A fully-functioning and fractured water filter Contaminant concentration in ceramic water filter candles (left: undamaged, right: broken)

Porous Media Flow Module Functionality

Flow Models

The Porous Media Flow Module includes functionality for modeling single-phase flow in porous media based on Darcy's law, Brinkman's equations, and combinations of free and porous media flow. Fractures in porous media may dominate the flow and a specialized interface for fracture flow can be combined with any of the porous media flow models. Both stationary and time-dependent analysis types are available.

Multiphase Flow

The multiphase flow capabilities include transport of multiple immiscible phases through a porous medium, solving for averaged phase volume fractions. For variably saturated porous media, a nonlinear flow option, based on Richards' equation, can be used to analyze media where the hydraulic properties change as fluids move through the porous medium, filling some pores and draining others.

Multiphysics

The multiphysics capabilities include combinations with heat transfer, chemical engineering, and structural analysis. When combined with heat transfer, there are options for computing nonisothermal flows in porous media as well as effective thermal properties. Heat transfer in porous media can be combined with moisture transport for applications within consumer electronics, packaging materials, and building physics.

The module also treats the transport of chemical species in free flow, saturated, and partially saturated porous media. It can be used to study the flow and chemical composition of a gas or liquid moving through the interstices of a porous medium. Apart from porous media regions, the flow system may also include regions with free flow.

For elastic effects in a porous material, a specialized multiphysics interface for poroelasticity combines a transient formulation of Darcy's law with a quasistatic formulation of solid mechanics. The pore pressure from the Darcy's Law interface acts as a load for the structural analysis, thereby causing swelling or shrinking. Changes in volumetric strain affect the pore space, which acts as a mass source or sink for the Darcy's law flow model.

The liquid phase concentration in a packed bed tank used for thermal energy storage. A model of a packed bed latent heat storage tank Thermal energy storage (TES) units are used to accumulate thermal energy from solar, geothermal, or waste heat sources. This example models the effects of heat transfer with phase change and local thermal nonequilibrium while charging the TES unit.

General Moisture Transport Interface Improvements

A new Concentrated species formulation is available in the Moisture Transport in Air interface to model convection and diffusion of vapor in air when the vapor content is high. This is often the case when there is moderate or high relative humidity at a high temperature. Under these conditions, the moist air density may vary significantly in space and time due to vapor concentration gradients, and the default formulation should be replaced by the new Concentrated species formulation.

The physics interface has also been improved to support supersaturation conditions that correspond to a relative humidity greater than one. This occurs when a hot stream saturated with water vapor is rapidly cooled down. Finally, the default solver settings for the various moisture transport, heat and moisture, and moisture flow interfaces have been set in a way that results in more robust and faster computation.

The settings for the Moisture Transport in Air interface in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5 with the new concentrated species mixture type shown. Moisture Transport in Air interface settings You can now select Concentrated species as the mixture type for moist air in the Moisture Transport interfaces.

New Tutorial Models

The Porous Media Flow Module includes several tutorial models.

Packed Bed Latent Heat Storage
The liquid phase concentration in a packed bed latent heat storage tank. Thermal energy storage in a packed bed latent heat storage tank Thermal energy storage (TES) units are used to accumulate thermal energy from solar, geothermal, or waste heat sources. The example models the effects of heat transfer with phase change and local thermal nonequilibrium while charging the TES unit.

Application Library Title:
packed_bed_latent_heat_storage

Download from the Application Gallery

Performance of a Porous Microchannel Heat Sink
The results of a parametric study to determine the optimal thickness of the porous substrate in a microchannel heat sink. Figure of Merit for a porous microchannel heat sink Microchannel heat sink with porous substrate (brown) to enhance heat transfer coefficient. The plot for the figure of merit shows the best configuration.

Application Library Title:
performance_of_a_porous_microchannel_heat_sink

Download from the Application Gallery

Frozen Inclusion
Fluid flowing over a frozen block, with isosurfaces showing that part of the ice block has melted into water. Liquid saturation in a frozen block heating up Liquid water saturation after nine hours of progressive degradation of the initial frozen block due to heat conduction and convection in the surrounding porous medium. The isosurfaces show the temperature, and the remaining ice appears in white. The streamlines represent the fluid velocity field.

Application Library Title:
frozen_inclusion

Download from the Application Gallery

Wicking in a Paper Strip
The liquid phase concentration in a paper strip due to capillary forces. Wicking in a paper strip Wicking occurs when a dry porous material is put into contact with a fluid; it will absorb the fluid due to capillary forces. The absorption continues until gravity balances the capillary force.

Application Library Title:
wicking_in_a_paper_strip

Download from the Application Gallery