波动光学模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“波动光学模块”的用户引入了耦合的全波和射线光学仿真、新的高斯光束边界条件和周期性端口的新变量。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解“波动光学模块”的所有更新。

全波与射线光学仿真耦合

现在,您可以将“射线光学模块”功能与“波动光学模块”仿真相结合,实现同时运行全波和射线追踪仿真,从而能够进行多尺度电磁建模,例如分析无法使用全波仿真进行计算的通过波导传播进入大房间的光。为了实现这种耦合,“射线光学模块”的几何光学 接口新增了两个特征:基于电场释放基于远场辐射方向图释放,可分别基于全波仿真中的近场或远场释放射线。您可以在基于平面电磁波的射线释放模型中看到这些新特征的应用演示。

针对右侧“图形”窗口中的模型显示的“基于电场释放”特征的“设置”窗口。 使用“基于电场释放”特征 图像显示了 基于电场释放特征的 设置窗口。选定的电场通过 电磁波,频域接口计算。图形窗口显示全波仿真(在左块域中)和产生的射线,根据射线的局部电场值着色和变形。

散射和匹配边界条件的高斯光束输入选项

散射匹配 边界条件的入射场 组合框添加了一个新选项。选择高斯光束 选项后,您可以定义在任意方向传播的高斯光束,它由傍轴高斯光束公式定义。您可以在分束器模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

偏振图和 Jones 矢量变量

现在,默认情况下,“周期性”端口会创建偏振 图,描绘不同衍射级的偏振状态,并且基于新增的 Jones 矢量单元后处理变量。同样,用于定义 Jones 矢量的基矢也可用于绘图和计算。您可以在六边形光栅菲涅尔方程模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

显示三种不同衍射级偏振状态的偏振图。 基于 Jones 矢量单元的偏振图 “六边形光栅”模型中两个衍射级的 偏振图。

高斯光束背景场的倏逝波

在使用平面波展开 选项定义高斯光束背景场时,您可以通过选中允许倏逝波 复选框,在展开选项中包含倏逝波。当模拟远离焦点传播的紧密聚焦的高斯光束(光斑半径小于波长)时,此选项非常有用。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示“电磁波,频域”接口的“设置”窗口,和右侧“图形”窗口中的一个模型。 在模型中包含倏逝波 设置窗口显示 允许倏逝波复选框。结果显示了光斑半径为半波长的高斯光束的场。

波束包络接口的狭缝端口

现在,狭缝端口也可用于电磁波,波束包络 接口的单向 公式。如果有多个模式在传播,但我们只关注其中一个模式的反射率或透射率,那么狭缝端口可能非常有用。您可以将域支持的狭缝端口用于所关注的模式,并使其余模式被端口后面域中的完美匹配层 (PML) 吸收。

圆柱锥形波导模型,其中对狭缝端口和完美匹配层进行了注释。 圆柱锥形波导 圆柱锥形波导,其两端的模场偏振方向略有不同。由于右侧端口是支持 PML 的狭缝端口,因此即使端口模场与输入端口的模场不匹配,该端口也不会发生反射。

散射和匹配边界条件的参考点

现在,参考点 属性可在输入场处于活动状态时用于电磁波,频域电磁波,波束包络 接口的散射边界条件匹配边界条件。参考位置定义为所选点的平均位置。此特征主要在域材料包含吸收或增益时有用。

COMSOL Multiphysics 中“参考点”属性的“设置”窗口以及“图形”窗口中的一个模型。 使用参考点属性 可以将 参考点属性视为“模型开发器”窗口中 散射边界条件特征的子节点。“图形”窗口显示了用于定义平均位置的点选择。给定五个突出显示的点,平均位置将出现在半球的中心。

端口实用程序

在设计具有任意大小馈电结构的电路时,我们经常忽视波导中的截止频率。这有可能导致不需要的频率意外地成为仿真的一部分,不免延长了求解时间。现在,您可以计算这些频率并将其从仿真中移除。对于端口 特征,在使用矩形或圆形端口时,您可以根据用户定义的相对磁导率计算波导截止频率。

新增和更新的教学案例

5.5 版本新增并更新了多个教学案例。

Wave Optics Module Updates

For users of the Wave Optics Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 brings coupled full-wave and ray optics simulations, new Gaussian beam boundary conditions, and new variables for periodic ports. Learn more about the Wave Optics Module updates in more detail below.

Full-Wave and Ray Optics Simulation Coupling

You can now run simultaneous full-wave and ray tracing simulations by combining the Ray Optics Module functionality with your Wave Optics Module simulations. This enables multiscale electromagnetic modeling, such as analyzing a waveguide beaming into a large room, where a full-wave simulation would be computationally prohibitive. To facilitate this coupling, two new features Release from Electric Field and Release from Far-Field Radiation Pattern have been added to the Geometrical Optics interface in the Ray Optics Module that release rays based on either a near or far field from a full-wave simulation. You can see these new features demonstrated in the Ray Release Based on a Plane Electromagnetic Wave model.

The Settings window for the Release from Electric Field feature is shown for a model that appears in the Graphics window to the right. Using the Release from Electric Field feature The image shows the Settings window for the Release from Electric Field feature. The selected electric field is computed by the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain interface. The Graphics window shows the full-wave simulation (in the left block domain) and the generated rays, colored and deformed based on the rays' local electric field value.

Gaussian Beam Input Option for Scattering and Matched Boundary Conditions

The Scattering and Matched boundary conditions have a new option for the Incident field combo box. Choosing the Gaussian beam option allows for propagation of a Gaussian beam in an arbitrary direction. The Gaussian beam is defined from the paraxial Gaussian beam formula. You can see this new functionality in the Beam Splitter model.

Polarization Plots and Jones Vector Variables

Periodic ports now create a Polarization plot by default. The Polarization plot depicts the polarization state for the different diffraction orders and is based on new postprocessing variables for Jones vector elements. Also, the base vectors, used for defining the Jones vectors, are available for plotting and evaluation. You can see this new functionality in the Hexagonal Grating and Fresnel Equations models.

A polarization plot showing the polarization state for three different diffraction orders. Polarization plot based on Jones vector elements Polarization plot for two diffraction orders in the Hexagonal Grating model.

Evanescent Waves for Gaussian Beam Background Fields

When using the Plane wave expansion option for defining a Gaussian beam background field, evanescent waves can now be included in the expansion by selecting an Allow evanescent waves check box. This option can be useful when simulating a tightly focused Gaussian beam, where the spot radius is smaller than the wavelength, propagating away from the focus.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI with the Settings window for the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain interface shown and a model in the Graphics window to the right. Including evanescent waves in a model The Settings window shows the Allow evanescent waves check box. The results show the field for a Gaussian beam with a spot radius of half a wavelength.

Slit Ports for the Beam Envelopes Interface

Slit ports are now also available for the Unidirectional formulation for the Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interface. Slit ports can be useful if several modes are propagating, but only the reflectance or transmittance of one of the modes is of interest. You can use a domain-backed slit port for the mode of interest and let the rest of the modes be absorbed by a Perfectly Matched Layer (PML) in the domain behind the port.

A cylindrical tapered waveguide model with annotations for the slit port and perfectly matched layer. Cylindrical tapered waveguide Cylindrical tapered waveguide with mode fields at the two ends that are polarized in slightly different directions. As the right port is a PML-backed slit port, there is no reflection from that port, even though the port mode field is not matched to the mode field for the input port.

Reference Points for Scattering and Matched Boundary Conditions

The Reference Point attribute is now available for the Scattering Boundary Condition and Matched Boundary Condition for the Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain and Electromagnetic Waves, Beam Envelopes interfaces, when an input field is active. The reference position is defined as the average position of the selected points. This feature is mainly useful when the domain material includes absorption or gain.

The Settings window for the Reference Point attribute is shown alongside a model in the Graphics window in COMSOL Multiphysics. Using the Reference Point attribute The Reference Point attribute can be seen as a subnode to the Scattering Boundary Condition feature in the Model Builder window. The Graphics window shows the point selection used for defining the average position. Given the five highlighted points, the average position will appear at the center of the semisphere.

Port Utility

When designing a circuit with an arbitrarily sized feed structure, the cutoff frequency in a waveguide is often overlooked. As a result, the unwanted frequency may accidentally be part of the simulation resulting in unnecessarily long solution times. You can now calculate and remove those frequencies from the simulation. For the Port feature, when using a rectangular or circular port, you can compute the waveguide cutoff frequency based on a user-defined relative permeability.

New and Updated Tutorial Models

Version 5.5 brings several new and updated tutorial models.