金属加工模块

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本引入了新的“金属加工模块”。这一附加模块支持您对钢和铸铁等材料中的冶金相变进行建模。

金属加工模块概述

“金属加工模块”引入了两个新的物理场接口:金属相变奥氏体分解,用于分析冶金相变。这两个接口都提供对扩散型相变和位移型相变进行建模的功能。和所有 COMSOL Multiphysics® 附加模块相同,“金属加工模块”也是基于多物理场的思想开发的。

该模块与“传热模块”结合使用时,可以提供更复杂的传热功能,能够计算有效热材料属性以及相变潜热和热辐射效应。类似地,通过与“结构力学模块”及其附加模块结合使用,可以计算残余应力、相变应变和变形。此外,“金属加工模块”还可以计算有效力学材料属性,并可以包含相变诱导塑性 (TRIP) 和热应变等现象。

金属相变接口

金属相变 接口通过计算热处理过程中变速齿轮、主轴和其他轴等组件中相组成的演变情况,可以研究钢等材料在加热或冷却过程中发生的冶金相变。金相 特征用于定义初始相分数和材料属性,相变 特征用于定义源相、目标相和相变模型。在添加该接口时,软件会自动生成两个金相 节点和一个相变 节点,这是建立此类模型的最低要求。然后,您可以在模型中定义任意数量的附加相和相变。

该接口提供三种类型的相变模型:

  • Leblond–Devaux 模型
  • Johnson–Mehl–Avrami–Kolmogorov (JMAK) 模型
  • Koistinen–Marburger 模型

前两个模型适用于分析扩散控制的相变,例如奥氏体分解成铁素体的情况。最后一个模型适用于对位移型(无扩散)马氏体相变进行建模。除了这些模型以外,您还可以定义自己的相变模型。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中使用其中一种相变模型模拟奥氏体向铁素体和珠光体的转变。 金属相变示例 本例演示使用 金属相变接口模拟金属棒的相变。设置窗口显示用于将奥氏体分解为铁素体和珠光体混合组织(右)的 Leblond-Devaux 模型。图中还显示了在 30 分钟标记处,金属棒半径上的所有相分数(左下)。

奥氏体分解接口

奥氏体分解 接口以金属相变 接口为基础,但专门用于钢的淬火。因此,在添加该接口时,软件会自动生成金相相变 “模型开发器”树节点,它们表示奥氏体分解过程中最常见的相变过程。通过使用奥氏体分解 接口,您可以计算相组成在组件中的特定位置如何随时间变化,并计算淬火后的残余应力状态。

钢直齿轮中显示淬火产生的残余应力。 钢淬火示例 图中显示 奥氏体分解接口和 设置窗口。直齿轮中显示残余应力。

相变模型校准

对于给定的相变,需要进行实验校准。通过使用金属相变奥氏体分解 接口,您可以计算常见的相变图,以便根据实验数据进行校准。相变图计算模型对计算的连续冷却转变 (CCT) 图进行了举例说明。

计算的 CCT 图显示金属温度随时间的变化情况。 CCT 图 计算的连续冷却转变 (CCT) 图的示例。

多物理场功能

“金属加工模块”提供两个多物理场耦合节点,以便与固体传热固体力学 接口进行耦合。相变潜热 多物理场耦合用于包含冶金相变过程中释放或吸收的热量。相变应变 多物理场耦合用于包含 TRIP、单金相的塑性和热应变。多物理场耦合可以与金属相变奥氏体分解 接口结合使用。此外,“金属加工模块”还可以与“AC/DC 模块”一起用来模拟感应淬火,而渗碳等工艺可以作为一般的扩散问题进行建模。

教学案例

“金属加工模块”提供四个完整的教学案例,用于演示可用的特征和功能。

相变图计算
计算的 CCT 图。 CCT 图 该模型演示如何计算相变图。结果显示计算的 CCT 图。

“案例库”标题:
transformation_diagram_computation
从“案例下载”页面下载

圆棒中的相变
显示 1800 秒时马氏体相分数的模型。 马氏体相分数 该模型显示如何模拟从奥氏体状态冷却的圆棒的相变。结果显示马氏体的相分数。

“案例库”标题:
phase_transformations_in_a_round_bar
从“案例下载”页面下载

钢坯淬火
显示冶金相组成在 600 秒内的演变情况的绘图。 相组成随时间的变化情况 该模型显示如何模拟钢坯的油淬火。结果显示各种金相的相组成随时间的变化情况。

“案例库”标题:
quenching_of_a_steel_billet
从“案例下载”页面下载

钢齿轮的渗碳淬火
钢齿轮模型,其中显示渗碳淬火产生的残余应力可视化效果。 钢齿轮 此模型显示如何模拟钢齿轮的渗碳淬火工艺。结果显示齿轮中的残余应力。

“案例库”标题:
carburization_and_quenching_of_a_steel_gear
从“案例下载”页面下载

Metal Processing Module

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 introduces the new Metal Processing Module. This add-on module allows you to model metallurgical phase transformations in materials like steel and cast iron.

Metal Processing Module Overview

The Metal Processing Module brings two new physics interfaces, Metal Phase Transformation and Austenite Decomposition for analyzing metallurgical phase transformations. Both of these interfaces provide functionality to model diffusive as well as displacive phase transformations. As with all COMSOL Multiphysics® add-on modules, the Metal Processing Module was developed with multiphysics in mind.

The module provides more sophisticated heat transfer functionality when combined with the Heat Transfer Module, with the ability to compute effective thermal material properties as well as phase transformation latent heat and the effects of heat radiation. Similarly, by combining it with the Structural Mechanics Module and its add-on modules, you can compute residual stresses, phase transformation strains, and deformations. The Metal Processing Module can also compute effective mechanical material properties and phenomena like transformation-induced plasticity (TRIP), and thermal strains can be included.

The Metal Phase Transformation Interface

The Metal Phase Transformation interface is used to study metallurgical phase transformations that occur in a material like steel, during heating or cooling, by computing the evolving phase composition in components like transmission gears, shafts, and axles during heat treatment. The Metallurgical phase feature is used to define the initial phase fraction and material properties, and the Phase transformation feature is used to define the source phase, destination phase, and phase transformation model. When the interface is added, two Metallurgical phase nodes and one Phase transformation node are automatically generated, as that is the minimum requirement to set up such a model. You can then define an arbitrary number of additional phases and phase transformations in your model.

Three types of phase transformation models are provided:

  • The Leblond–Devaux model
  • The Johnson–Mehl–Avrami–Kolmogorov (JMAK) model
  • The Koistinen–Marburger model

The first two models are suitable for diffusion–controlled phase transformations, such as when austenite decomposes into ferrite. The last model is suitable to model the displacive (diffusionless) martensitic phase transformation. In addition to these models, you can define your own phase transformation models.

The transformation of austenite to ferrite and pearlite is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics using one of several phase transformation models. Metal phase transformation example The Metal Phase Transformation interface exemplified here to simulate phase transformations in a bar. The Settings window shows the Leblond–Devaux model for decomposition of austenite into a combination of ferrite and pearlite, which is shown in a section of the bar. All phase fractions over the radius of the bar are also shown at the 30-minute mark.

The Austenite Decomposition Interface

The Austenite Decomposition interface is based on the Metal Phase Transformation interface, but specialized to simulate the quenching of steels. As such, the Metallurgical Phase and Phase Transformation Model Builder tree nodes that represent the most common phase transformation processes during austenite decomposition are automatically generated when the interface is added. Using the Austenite Decomposition interface, you can compute how the phase composition evolves over time, at certain locations in a component, and compute the residual stress state after quenching.

The residual stresses from quenching are shown in a steel spur gear. Steel quenching example The Austenite Decomposition interface and its Settings window. Residual stresses are shown in a spur gear.

Calibration of Phase Transformation Models

Experimental calibration is required for a given phase transformation. Using the Metal Phase Transformation and Austenite Decompositon interfaces, you can compute common phase transformation diagrams to facilitate calibration against experimental data. A computed continuous cooling transformation (CCT) diagram is exemplified in the Transformation Diagram Computation model.

A computed CCT diagram showing temperature in metals over time. CCT diagram Example of a computed continuous cooling transformation (CCT) diagram.

Multiphysics Functionality

The Metal Processing Module provides two multiphysics coupling nodes to facilitate coupling to the Heat Transfer in Solids and Solid Mechanics interfaces. The Phase Transformation Latent Heat multiphysics coupling is used to include heat released or absorbed during metallurgical phase transformations. The Phase Transformation Strain multiphysics coupling is used to include TRIP, plasticity of the individual metallurgical phases, and thermal strains. The multiphysics couplings can be used with both the Metal Phase Transformation and Austenite Decomposition interfaces. Additionally, the Metal Processing Module can be used together with the AC/DC Module to model induction hardening, and processes like carburization can be modeled as a general diffusion problem.

Example Tutorial Models

The Metal Processing Module includes four fully documented tutorial models to demonstrate the features and functionality available.

Transformation Diagram Computation
A computed CCT diagram. CCT diagram This model shows how to compute transformation diagrams. The results show a computed CCT diagram.

Application Library Title:
transformation_diagram_computation

Download from the Application Gallery

Phase Transformations in a Round Bar
A model showing the phase fraction of martensite at 1800 seconds. Martensite phase fraction This model shows how to simulate phase transformations in a round bar that is being cooled from an austenitized state. The results show the phase fraction of martensite.

Application Library Title:
phase_transformations_in_a_round_bar

Download from the Application Gallery

Quenching of a Steel Billet
A plot showing how metallurgical phase composition evolves over 600 seconds. Phase composition over time This model shows how to simulate oil quenching of a steel billet. The results show the phase composition of the various metallurgical phases evolving over time.

Application Library Title:
quenching_of_a_steel_billet

Download from the Application Gallery

Carburization and Quenching of a Steel Gear
A steel gear model visualizing the residual stresses from carburization and quenching. Steel gear This model shows how to simulate carburization and quenching of a steel gear. The results show the residual stresses in the gear.

Application Library Title:
carburization_and_quenching_of_a_steel_gear

Download from the Application Gallery