化学反应工程模块更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本为“化学反应工程模块”的用户加入了根据热力学系统生成材料的功能,新增了气体和液体扩散系数模型以及水和蒸汽属性。请阅读以下内容,进一步了解这些化学反应工程特征。

从热力学系统生成材料

在研究具有多种化学物质的混合物时,您可以使用热力学节点来分析混合物属性如何与成分和系统条件相关。鉴于在 COMSOL Multiphysics® 中定义物理属性的最方便的方法是使用材料,您现在可以从热力学系统自动生成材料节点,其中可以包含密度、热容、动力黏度、扩散系数和导热系数等属性。一旦创建好材料,就可以使用它在各个物理场接口中定义属性,例如,用于为流体流动、传热和/或质量传递进行建模。您可以在发动机冷却液属性氧化氮还原反应动力学分析模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

在“图形”窗口中显示发动机冷却液属性模型的 COMSOL Multiphysics UI,在上下文菜单中选中了“生成材料”选项。 从上下文菜单中选择“生成材料” 通过位于 热力学系统 的上下文菜单中的 生成材料 向导创建 "Liquid: ethylene glycol-water" 材料。

气体和液体扩散系数模型

热力学系统中添加了许多气体和液体扩散系数模型。在研究的稀溶液体系中只有一种溶剂物质占优时,您现在可以轻松地创建无限稀释条件下扩散系数的函数。对于浓溶液体系,则可以创建 Maxwell-Stefan 扩散系数的函数进行研究。您可以在氧化氮还原反应动力学分析模型中看到这一新特征。

COMSOL Multiphysics“模型开发器”树中的扩散系数,显示了其中一个扩散系数的“混合物属性”设置。 扩散系数 以氮气为主的气相体系中溶质物质的 扩散系数

水和蒸汽属性

新版本新增了用于研究水和蒸汽系统的热力学模型,其中包含“水和蒸汽性质国际协会”(IAPWS) 提出的属性相关性。借助这一功能,您可以准确评估所有相(从液态水和湿蒸汽一直到过热蒸汽)的热力学和传递属性。对于蒸汽,新版本现在提供接近饱和以及接近临界点的真实气体属性。对于液态水,提供了接近沸点的属性,等等。

液态水和蒸汽的压力-焓图。 压力-焓图 使用新的 Water (IAPWS) 热力学模型生成的液态水和蒸汽的压力-焓相图。

从热力学系统生成化学接口

与创建材料类似,您现在可以从热力学系统自动创建化学 接口。软件会将化学 接口设置成包含相同物质以及要使用的混合物和传递属性,这些属性可根据对应物质的热力学属性自动进行定义。这使您可以轻松开始定义一个热力学系统(包含许多化学物质),然后创建一个相应的化学系统。此外,您还可以定义各种物质之间的反应,并使用化学 接口模拟釜或其他化学过程设备中的质量传递和反应。您可以在管式反应器中的解离反应模型中看到这一新功能的应用演示。

Chemical Reaction Engineering Module Updates

For users of the Chemical Reaction Engineering Module, COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes the ability to generate materials from a thermodynamic system, diffusivity models for gases and liquids, and water and steam properties. Learn more about these chemical reaction engineering features below.

Generate Material from a Thermodynamic System

When studying a mixture with multiple chemical species, the thermodynamics node can be used to analyze how mixture properties depend on the composition and on the system conditions. Recognizing that the most convenient way of defining physical properties in COMSOL Multiphysics® is to use a material, you can now automatically generate a material node from a thermodynamic system. Properties such as the density, heat capacity, dynamic viscosity, diffusivity, and the thermal conductivity can be included in the material. Once the material is created, it can be used to define properties across multiple physics interfaces, for example, to model fluid flow, heat transfer, and/or mass transfer. You can see this new functionality in the Engine Coolant Properties and Analysis of NOx Reaction Kinetics models.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI with an engine coolant properties model in the Graphics window and a context menu with the Generate Material option selected. Selecting Generate Material from a context menu The "Liquid: ethylene glycol-water" material is created from the Generate Material wizard, available in the context menu of a Thermodynamic System.

Diffusivity Models for Gases and Liquids

A number of models for the diffusivity in gases and liquids have been added to the thermodynamic systems. When studying diluted systems where one solvent species is in excess, you can easily create functions for the diffusion coefficients at infinite dilution. To study concentrated systems, functions for the Maxwell–Stefan diffusivities can be created. You can see this new feature in the Analysis of NOx Reaction Kinetics model.

Diffusion coefficients in the COMSOL Multiphysics Model Builder tree and the mixture property settings shown for one of the diffusion coefficients. Diffusion coefficients Diffusion coefficients for solute species in a gas phase system where nitrogen is in excess.

Water and Steam Properties

A new thermodynamics model for water and steam systems is now available. The model includes property correlations suggested by the International Association for Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS). With this functionality, you can evaluate accurate thermodynamic and transport properties across all phases, from liquid water and wet steam all the way to superheated steam. For steam, real gas properties close to saturation and near the critical point are now available. For liquid water, the vicinity of the boiling point, among others, is provided.

A pressure-enthalpy diagram for liquid water and steam. Pressure–enthalpy diagram Pressure–enthalpy phase diagram for liquid water and steam generated using the new Water (IAPWS) thermodynamics model.

Generate a Chemistry Interface from a Thermodynamic System

Similar to creating materials, you can now automatically create a Chemistry interface from a thermodynamic system. The Chemistry interface will be set up to include the same species, as well as the mixture and transport properties to be used, automatically defined from the thermodynamic counterpart. This makes it easy to start out by defining a thermodynamic system, including a number of chemical species, and then creating a corresponding chemical system. Furthermore, reactions among the species can be defined, and the Chemistry interface can be used to simulate mass transport and reactions in tanks or other chemical process equipment. You can see this new functionality in the Dissociation in a Tubular Reactor model.