研究和求解器更新

COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.5 版本改进了集群计算功能,新增了网格自适应功能,实现了更快的求解器,等等。请阅读以下内容,了解有关研究和求解器的所有功能更新。

集群上的分布式解数据存储

现在,为了提高在集群上存储解的效率,您可以右键单击 节点并选择使用分布式存储来存储解。这将使用分布式输入/输出方法存储解,在存储许多解(许多时间步或频率)时,该方法可以降低磁盘需求,从而提高性能。

右键单击 COMSOL Multiphysics“模型开发器”中的“解”节点后的用户界面,其中突出显示了“使用分布式存储来存储解”选项。 “解”节点设置 分布式存储选项要求所有节点都可以访问同一存储区域和同一临时存储区域。

多重网格性能

集群上的多重网格求解器平滑处理操作设置现已改进,从而使几乎所有多次求解线性系统的多重网格相关仿真的性能都得到了改善。当您在单个节点(而不是集群)上运行时,这些改进也会有效,但是影响较小。比较而言,在我们的测试硬件环境中,Ahmed 类车体模型在单个节点上比 COMSOL Multiphysics® 5.4 版本快 15%(50 分钟 vs. 60 分钟),而在 6 个节点上,则快 30%(40 分钟 vs. 60 分钟)。

在 COMSOL Multiphysics 中建模的 Ahmed 类车体,其中显示“多重网格”设置。 验证模型 CFD 的 Ahmed 类车体验证模型。

代数多重网格的改进功能

代数多重网格 (AMG) 和平滑聚集 AMG (SAAMG) 求解器新增了一个先降低单元阶次(任意)设置,使您可以使用求解器组合:首先是降低几何多重网格 (GMG) 求解器阶数,直到达到阶数 1,然后采用 AMG 或 SAAMG 求解器通过多重网格方法生成较粗化网格。新设置的优点在于,您可以在一个设置中控制多重网格层数,而不必在两个位置重复进行预平滑器和后平滑器设置。

间断伽辽金法

通过对存储解对象的方法进行改进,提升了间断伽辽金法的效率。现在,需要通信的数据明显减少,使该方法在集群上的求解速度变得更快、更节省内存。与 5.4 版本相比,大型声学基准模型在 6 个节点上运行时,速度加快了 30%(700 秒 vs. 980 秒)。此项改进适用于波形偏微分方程 接口以及附加模块中基于间断伽辽金法的物理场接口。

用于域分解的新 Schur 求解器

现在提供一种新的域分解 (Schur) 求解器,它可以使用精确的 Schur 补码和代数混合直接迭代求解器来提供域分解。例如,在求解强耦合多物理场问题时,此方法很有用,通常在这种情况下应首选直接求解器,但往往由于内存消耗太大而无法使用。COMSOL Multiphysics® 早期版本中提供的域分解 求解器现在改为域分解 (Schwarz) 求解器。

Schur 求解器通过使用局部 Schur 矩阵及其逆矩阵来求解线性方程组,其策略类似于直接求解器。该求解器的分布式版本用于集群。Schur 求解器使用的系统矩阵处于求解器阶段,用于迭代求解全局 Schur 矩阵问题。在此阶段之后,可以使用任何求解器独立求解局部问题,但通常应使用 MUMPS 这样的直接求解器进行求解。与最佳迭代求解器相比,域分解 (Schur) 求解器的计算成本相对较高,但在集群上比直接求解器更有效。

绘制组装的残差矩阵和雅可比矩阵的未定义值

现在,您可以绘制在残余矢量或雅可比矩阵组装过程中引入的未定义值的坐标位置。这有助于在建模过程中更容易地理解这些未定义值的来源。

非线性求解器收敛图中的误差估计

现在,当您在求解适用的多物理场模型时,如果在高级 节点设置 窗口的求解器 日志列表中选择详细,则可以获取每个场和状态的误差估计日志和绘图。此功能适用于全耦合分离 求解器。

COMSOL Multiphysics 5.5 版本中的收敛图,其中显示每个因变量的误差估计。 新收敛图类型 显示每个因变量(场)的误差估计的新收敛图类型。

网格自适应的改进功能

对于自适应网格细化,您现在可以选择在哪个几何层上执行网格自适应,以便在表面等位置执行自适应网格细化。您可以在主要研究步骤设置 窗口中新增的用于自适应的几何实体选择 栏中指定几何实体层。在这一栏中,您还可以选择对哪些域或表面执行网格自适应(即,您可以在几何结构的子集中执行自适应网格细化)。


您现在可以添加许多面向目标的全局量,使网格自适应在这些量稳定到所要求的精度时终止。例如,这些面向目标的量可以是 RF 仿真的 S 参数。面向目标的终止可用于自适应和误差估计算法支持的任何误差估计方法。从研究步骤设置 窗口中的自适应和误差估计 下的面向目标的终止 列表中选择手动,可以输入用户定义的面向目标的数量及其容差。

对于瞬态自适应网格细化,您现在可以在自适应网格细化 节点的设置 窗口中使用通用修改 方法和重新生成网格 方法。与之前的方法相比,通用修改方法可以使用较少的网格单元来求解尖峰。

块低秩因式分解

MUMPS 求解器已进行升级,在计算和存储 LU 因子时,现在支持块低秩因式分解。这是一种近似但精确的 LU 因式分解方法,可以减少求解时的内存消耗。您可以通过在 MUMPS 直接求解器的设置 窗口中选择块低秩因式分解 复选框来将其激活。与默认的标准因式分解相比,某些结构力学和声学模型的求解时间和内存使用率最多可减少 25%。

特征模态的新缩放类型

现在,您可以在特征值求解器 节点的设置 窗口中指定特征矢量缩放的最大值,方法是从特征矢量缩放 列表中选择最大值,并在最大绝对值 框中输入一个值。然后将峰值归一化为该值。您可以使用此设置来保持较小的特征模态。

终止直接求解器的迭代改进

对于直接求解器(PARDISO、MUMPS 和 SPOOLES),如果在求解器设置 窗口的误差 栏中使用新的误差率范围 设置没有减小残差,现在可以停止迭代改进。默认情况下,该值设为 0.5(有效值在 0 到 1 之间;值越小,意味着迭代终止越快)。当检查误差估计 设为自动 时,如果触发了迭代求精,则日志 窗口中会出现一条警告,显示“已触发迭代求精”。

间断伽辽金法的限制器

当计算守恒定律的不连续解时,例如,在使用波形偏微分方程 接口时,可能会出现寄生振荡和不稳定情况。为了控制不连续点周围的振荡并稳定(非线性)守恒定律的计算,波形偏微分方程 接口以及“声学模块”、“RF 模块”、“波动光学模块”、“结构力学模块”和“MEMS 模块”时域显式接口中的间断伽辽金法现在都有一个加权的基本非振荡 (WENO) 限制器。

COMSOL Multiphysics 用户界面,其中显示一个三维模型的“波形偏微分方程”设置。 在模型中使用 WENO 限制器 平流问题三维模型,其中采用 波形偏微分方程接口和新的 WENO 限制器来控制寄生振荡和不稳定情况。

新的批处理选项

在批处理模式下通过操作系统命令行运行软件时,您可以使用两个新的命令行选项。当您使用 -batchlog 选项将日志存储到文件时,还可以使用 -batchlogout 选项将日志定向到标准输出。-norun 选项在不运行模型时使用,并可以分别使用 -clearsolution-clearmesh 选项来清除解或网格,而无需等待模型求解。

Studies and Solvers Updates

COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.5 includes cluster computing improvements, new mesh adaptation functionality, faster solvers, and more. Learn about all of the updates relating to studies and solvers below.

Distributed Solution Data Storage on Clusters

For improved efficiency when saving solutions on a cluster, you can now right-click a Solution node and choose Store Solution Using Distributed Storage. This will store the solution using a distributed Input/Output method, which can improve performance by reducing disk requirements when storing many solutions (many time steps or frequencies).

The Solution node in the COMSOL Multiphysics Model Builder has been right-clicked and the Store Solution Using Distributed Storage option is highlighted. Solution node settings The distributed storage option requires that all nodes have access to the same storage area and the same temporary storage area.

Multigrid Performance

The setup of the smoothing operations for the multigrid solvers are improved on clusters. This leads to improved performance for virtually all multigrid-dependent simulations that solve linear systems over and over again. The improvements also have effects, albeit smaller, when running on one node (not cluster). For comparison, for a particular type of hardware, the Ahmed body model is 15% faster on a single node (50 minutes vs. 60 minutes) and 30% faster on 6 nodes (40 minutes vs. 60 minutes) compared to COMSOL Multiphysics® version 5.4.

An Ahmed body is modeled in COMSOL Multiphysics and the Multigrid settings are shown. Verification model The Ahmed body verification model for CFD.

Algebraic Multigrid Improvements

A new Lower element order first (any) setting is available for the algebraic multigrid (AMG) and smoothed aggregation AMG (SAAMG) solvers. It makes it possible to use a combination of solvers: first the geometric multigrid (GMG) solver with lower order until order 1 is reached and then the AMG or SAAMG solver to generate the coarser levels in a multigrid approach. The advantage with the new setting is that you can control the total number of multigrid levels in one setting and that you do not have to repeat the pre- and postsmoother settings in two places.

Discontinuous Galerkin Method

Improvements to the method used for storing the solution object makes the discontinuous Galerkin method more efficient. Less data needs to be communicated, which makes the method faster and more memory efficient on clusters. For comparison, a large acoustics benchmark model is 30% faster (700 seconds vs. 980 seconds) compared to version 5.4 when running on 6 nodes. This improvement applies to the Wave Form PDE interface and the physics interfaces, available in add-on modules, based on the discontinuous Galerkin method.

New Schur Solver for Domain Decomposition

A new Domain Decomposition (Schur) solver is now available to provide domain decomposition using an exact Schur complement and an algebraic hybrid direct-iterative solver. This method is useful, for example, when solving strongly coupled multiphysics problems where a direct solver would be preferred but cannot be used due to memory consumption. The Domain Decomposition solver available from earlier versions of COMSOL Multiphysics® is now available as Domain Decomposition (Schwarz).

The Schur solver solves a linear system of equations with a strategy that resembles that of a direct solver by using local Schur matrices and their inverses. A distributed version of the solver is used on clusters. The system matrices used by the Schur solver are in the solver stage used to solve the global Schur matrix problem iteratively. After this stage, the local problems can be solved independently using any solver, but they should typically be solved by a direct solver like MUMPS. The Domain Decomposition (Schur) solver is relatively expensive compared to an optimal iterative solver, but can be more efficient than a direct solver on clusters.

Plot Undefined Values for Assembled Residual and Jacobian Matrices

You can now plot the coordinate locations of undefined values introduced during the assembly of a residual vector or a Jacobian matrix. This can be used to more easily understand the source of such undefined values during the modeling process.

Error Estimates in the Convergence Plot for Nonlinear Solvers

You can now get a log and plot of error estimates per field and state during the solution for applicable multiphysics models if you select Detailed from the Solver log list in the Advanced node’s Settings window. This functionality is available for the Fully Coupled and Segregated solvers.

A convergence plot in COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.5 that shows the error estimates per dependent variable. New convergence plot type The new convergence plot type displaying error estimates for each dependent (field) variable.

Mesh Adaptation Improvements

For adaptive mesh refinement, it is now possible to choose on which geometric level the mesh adaptation will be performed, so that you can do adaptive mesh refinement on surfaces, for example. You specify the geometric entity level in a new Geometric Entity Selection for Adaptation section in the main study step's Settings window. In that section, you can also select for which domains or surfaces, for example, to perform the mesh adaptation (that is, you can do adaptive mesh refinement in a subset of the geometry).


It is now possible to add a number of global goal-oriented quantities to make the mesh adaptation terminate when those quantities are stable to a requested accuracy. These goal-oriented quantities could, for example, be the S-parameters for an RF simulation. The goal-oriented termination can be used for any error estimation method supported by the adaptation and error estimates algorithm. Choose Manual from the Goal-oriented termination list under Adaptation and Error Estimates in the study step's Settings window to enter user-defined goal-oriented quantities and their tolerances.

For time-dependent adaptive mesh refinement, the General modification method and Rebuild mesh methods are now available in the Adaptive Mesh Refinement node's Settings window. The general modification method can resolve sharp fronts with fewer mesh elements in total compared to the previous methods.

Block Low-Rank Factorization

The MUMPS solver has been upgraded and now supports blocked low-rank factorization, both when computing the LU factors and when storing them. This is an approximate, but accurate LU-factorization method that can reduce memory consumption when solving. You activate it by selecting the Block low rank factorization check box in the Settings window for the MUMPS direct solver. The solution time and memory usage for certain structural mechanics and acoustics models can be reduced by as much as 25% compared to the default standard factorization.

New Scaling Type for Eigenmodes

You can now specify a maximum value for the scaling of eigenvectors in the Settings window for the Eigenvalue Solver node by choosing Maximum from the Scaling of eigenvectors list and then entering a value in the Maximum absolute value field. The peak value is then normalized to that value. You can use this setting to keep eigenmodes small.

Termination of Iterative Improvements for the Direct Solvers

For the direct solvers (PARDISO, MUMPS, and SPOOLES), it is now possible to stop iterative improvements if the residual is not reduced by using the new Error ratio bound setting in the Error section of the solver's Settings window. By default, it is set to 0.5 (valid values are between 0 and 1; a lower value means that the iterations terminate more quickly). When the Check error estimate setting is set to Automatic, a single warning that reads "Iterative refinement triggered" appears in the Log window if the iterative refinement is triggered.

Limiters for the Discontinuous Galerkin Method

When computing discontinuous solutions to conservation laws, for example, when using the Wave Form PDE interface, spurious oscillations and instabilities might arise. For controlling oscillations around discontinuities and stabilizing the computations of (nonlinear) conservation laws, a weighted essentially nonoscillatory (WENO) limiter is now available for the discontinuous Galerkin method available in the Wave Form PDE interface, as well as the time explicit interfaces in the Acoustics Module, RF Module, Wave Optics Module, Structural Mechanics Module, and MEMS Module.

The COMSOL Multiphysics UI showing the Wave Form PDE settings for a 3D model. Using the WENO limiter in a model A 3D advective problem using the Wave Form PDE interface with the new WENO limiter for controlling spurious oscillations and instabilities.

New Batch Options

There are two new command-line options when running in batch mode from the operating system command line. The option -batchlogout is used to also direct the log to standard out when the log is stored on file using the option -batchlog . The option -norun is used for not running the model and can be used, for example, to clear the solution or mesh, using the option -clearsolution or -clearmesh, respectively, without having to wait for the model to solve.